top of page

Take a look at what our readers from around the world think of
The Adventures of Jimmy and Andrew: American Stonehenge
and read our amazing reviews!

Press & Awards for American Stonehenge

Awards

Royal Dragonfly 2020 Awards Honorable Mention:

Honorable Mention for categories Animal/Pets, Chapter Books, and Science Fiction/Fantasy.

Purple Dragonfly 2021 Awards Winner:

1st Place for Middle Grade Fiction, 2nd Place for Animals/Pets, Honorable Mention for categories Best Illustration and Chapter Books

Recent Interviews and Events

Jim Masters LIVE

We were live on the Jim Masters Show! Check out the epic interview between Jim and our lovely author, Mike Goldstein here.

The Vegas Voice 

Mike appeared on The Vegas Voice Live on July 15, 2021! It was a great time and you get a lot of insights into the making of Jimmy and Andrew. Listen here

The Rosie and Bill Show

Mike's episode on The Rosie and Bill Show just aired and you can catch the whole thing right here! >>>

Or head to YouTube and subscribe to their channel. 

3 Geeks Podcast

The 3 Geeks spent some time with Mike recently and it was a great time! You can catch the episode below.

Listen right here and let us know what you think!

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook for the latest news! 

Editorial Reviews
Screen Shot 2023-02-01 at 3.04.12 PM.png

American Stonehenge: The Adventures Of Jimmy & Andrew is an exhilarating, magical, educational, creative, fun, mysterious, and gripping story! This book is recommended for 4th to 9th grade however, anyone who loves a fictional, mysterious, historical, and shocking story will love this book! I was completely captivated!

 

Jimmy finds the most unexpected surprise on his birthday an immortal telepathic dog. Andrew is from ancient Egypt and together they unravel mysteries from Andrew's past and the mystery of American Stonehenge a new archeological find by Jimmy's parents. This book beautifully mixes fiction, culture, and history. The adventures are truly magical and keep the reader on the edge of their seat.

 

Jimmy and Andrew are the most lovable pair and their dual perspective makes this book truly one of a kind! I absolutely love it!!!

- Brooke Young, Author, Iowa, USA -- @murraysmiraculousmission

My thoughts:


Book One of The Adventures of Jimmy and Andrew series. A wonderful middle-grade series that combines history, sci- fi, folklore and fantasy. We first meet Jimmy who has always wanted a dog of his own. For his 9th birthday his parents take him to the pound where he comes across Andrew whose thoughts he can hear. We then discover that Andrew is in fact over 3000 years old and has seen many wonderful things over the years.

The story moves between the past where we discover Andrew’s origins and the the present. Jimmy’s parents are both archeologists and who have been called out to help excavate an exact replica of Stonehenge in a remote forest in Washington. Jimmy and Andrew also need to discover how it came to be.

A fun read with well-developed characters, interesting storylines and gorgeous colour pictures. I loved that it explored a huge variety of different historical events such as the Pharaohs of Egypt, Joan of Arc and the Vietnam war. I liked the Native American folklore and the way the author put in interesting facts in the footnotes and behind the scenes pictures at the back.

I did find it over-explained things a bit in the dialogue which is something that tends to annoy me in a story but I think would work well for the intended audience. I loved the friendship between Jimmy and Andrew and how they learned to live off the land with Pete. I liked that included an exploration around environmentalism and PTSD in such an accessible manner. A solid start to what will hopefully be a long series.

- Kirsten Willet, Book Reviewer, Australia -- @recipebookworm

Screen Shot 2023-02-01 at 2.51.37 PM.png

Children’s books are quite entertaining in their own way as they transport the readers into a world of fantasy and make them feel relaxed.

This is especially true in the case of adventure books that are so different and enjoyable compared to adventure novels written for adults. Mike Goldstein’s American Stonehenge The Adventures Of Jimmy And Andrew Book 1 is one such book that takes the readers on an exciting and thrilling journey. 

Full review here


- Samata Dey Bose, Book Reviewer, West Bengal, India -- @indiacafe24

Wow! This was fun!

 

The theme was unique one and an adventure I enjoyed going on. There were lot of learning elements and valuable lessons in this one and perfect gift that would go on for kids or anyone who loves adventurous trip.

The pairing in this one was great. Jimmy and Andrews on their journey, the addition of Pete was a trio pack completed. The imagination, description and flow of the story with strong friendships, archaeology, communication is fascinating.

The cherry on the top in this one was illustrations added. They were beautifully done. The historical fantasy was fluent. I cannot wait to read the next one.

I highly recommend this book! Rating ~ 5✨

- Kriti, Book Blogger, Mumbai, India -- @thisreadergirl

Screen Shot 2023-01-19 at 12.30.36 PM.png

Who says middle-grade fiction is only for kids? American Stonehenge is such a fun adventure filled with everything you could ever want in a story: complex characters, history, fantasy, sci-fi, and so much more. This story uses such a compelling combination of history and culture with its own creative storyline, and I loved every second of it. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

On a deeper level, I thought this book did a great job of introducing some complex real-life problems to the target audience, like the consequences of war, PTSD, and grief. However, at times I did wonder if it might be a bit too much for some kids to truly grasp or handle. But with that said, if reading in a classroom setting or with an adult who could answer kids’ questions, I think this would be an incredible learning opportunity.

Overall, this was an awesome read and I highly recommend this for kids and adults of any age who are looking for a great, creative page-turner. (And I extra recommend it for dog-lovers!)

- Alex & Casper, Dog Mom & Copywriter, Ontario, CA -- @booksnmydog

Overall Rating - ⭐ ⭐ ⭐⭐

Jimmy, the boy who can’t wait to adopt a pet on his birthday! Andrew, an ancient immortal dog that can read minds! Things are bound to get interesting when they can hear each other’s thoughts. This illustrated middlegrade novel revolves around Jimmy and Andrew’s adventures as they join Jimmy’s parents in an archaeological quest in the forests of Northern Washington. An exact replica of Stonehenge awaits them!

I devoured this in a single sitting! The well-laid and well-layered plot kept me hooked! The way Andrew narrates his life experiences on earth, starting from his life with the Egyptian Pharaoh Tut was top-notch! The dog even survives the Vietnamese war and its stories were tragic and moving.

The writing style was very comfortable and the story was eventful and kept rolling in an enjoyable fashion. This book had everything ranging from Egyptian mythology to aliens and what not! The ending was epic and it has laid the foundation to a sequel. I can’t wait to know what the next book holds!
This book is well-loaded with energizing adventure that I really wanted to get out of my home and travel there. Illustrations in this book were so realistic and took me to the scene.

Would recommend this book to everyone! I’m sure you’ll find it refreshing, jaw dropping and thought provoking too. Children are sure to cherish this and they might want to adopt a dog too!

- Srinidhi, Book Reviewer, Dehli, India -- @bookstagram_for_an_escape

Screen Shot 2023-01-19 at 12.19.48 PM.png

I know every kid has dreamed of having an animal side kick that they could communicate with and that would live forever.

Jimmy heads on an adventure with his telepathic dog! What follows is an amazing journey filled with some great characters. Like all of my favorite middle grade books the characters have amazing heart and courage. There’s not only adventure but a bit of fantasy and some sci-fi. It ends on a perfect note to make you excited to see what they get into next.

There’s also some amazing illustrations that helps bring the journey to life!

I also want to shout out to the fact that they went to a shelter to find a dog - love seeing that in stories!

- Megan, Book Blogger, Maryland, USA-- @megandherbook

Wow! What an amazing book this is by Mike Goldstein. I couldn’t put it down!🗿🗿🗿🗿🗿

The story sounded intriguing and the book itself is very beautiful! It’s striking front cover is just the starting point. The illustrations throughout are so detailed and beautiful. As for the story- wow!


Meet Jimmy, a young boy always wanted a dog and on his birthday, he is allowed to visit an adoption shelter. As he walks along the cages, he hears a voice asking to be rescued leading to discovering that he can telepathically communicate with a dog! Andrew is adopted and the adventures begin - not your usual ones either!


This is no ordinary dog - he is immortal, born in Egypt more than three thousand years ago! He has searched the earth all this time in the hope to find others that can read human and dog thoughts!! When meets Jimmy, the first of their many adventures begins, leading to the discovery of his origins!


What excitement lies next as the pair go on some amazing historical journeys: Egypt; Iron Age Britain; American Stonehenge... just wow! Jimmy and Andrew to the remote forests of northern Washington, as the Jimmy’s archaeologist parents are excavating a newly discovered site there. Discovering a fully intact duplicate of Stonehenge in England leading to a mystery for Jimmy and Andrew to solve.


The teacher in me was so excited about the history lessons and creative writing opportunities that this book can provide! I couldn’t put it down!


This beautifully written and exciting historical fantasy is an excellent read for 8/9 years onwards and I can’t wait to read the next book! Highly recommended!

- Zowie Norris, Mom, Children's Author & Illustrator, Yorkshire, UK -- @zowie_norris_author

Screen Shot 2023-01-06 at 1.29.36 PM.png

This book is an illustrated middle-grade book about a boy and his very special dog (swipe right for a few pictures of the cool illustrations included). Andrew is not only able to communicate with Jimmy telepathically but he has also been alive for thousands of years! Jimmy’s archeologist parents are taking him to the site of a recently discovered Stonehenge which is a duplicate of the one found in England. The story takes a twist when they come into contact with beings from another planet who destroy electronics and protect the forest. This story spans the world from Egypt to England to America and tackles some heavy topics such as the difficulty that war veterans have when rejoining society and the dangers of technological advancement. The story includes some violent scenes so may not be suitable for some kids but I didn’t find that it was too much. I enjoyed reading this one and it made me really think more about technology and the dangers we face with continued advancements in technology. One of the story’s themes is that we must take care of the world we live in if we want to ensure the survival of our planet. This is the first book in the series and I’m interested in seeing what adventures Jimmy and Andrew will go on next!

- Janell K., Dog Mom & Book Blogger, Hawaii, USA-- @janells.bookstagram

Rating : ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 

 

You should have sniffed the book!!!  It smells so good. 😄

 

This book took me back to decades and hundred and thousand years back ; even the Egyptian civilization of pharaohs. Thus , I am pretty sure that kids will enjoy this book as much as I did. I love the bond between Jimmy and Andrew + their bond with Pete. The entire plot was brought forward with perfectly blended mixture of adventures , humanity , love & lessons for life and the society.

This is a book that I wish I read exactly a decade ago when I was 10 because I speculate that 10 year old me might enjoy this book in a different way than the 20 year old me did. I am glad that I got a chance to read this remarkable story and share my thoughts with you who read this.

- Senali S., Book Blogger, Sri Lanka -- @whatsenalireads

Screen Shot 2023-01-06 at 1.21.28 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-01-06 at 1.18.01 PM.png

My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This was such a delightful read! There was so much packed into this one! I loved the characters Jimmy and Andrew and how Andrew is a telepathic dog. This book combines fantasy with historical facts as it takes you on a fun adventure. The story is very well written and the beautiful illustrations helps the story along and makes the story easier to visualize. Overall this was an enjoyable book that I can see many middle graders loving as well as people of all ages.


- Jaime Alexander, Book Blogger, Michigan, USA -- @jaime_of_gryffindor

5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Are you looking for a beautiful Middle Grade book for a loved one this holiday season? This is it. It’s beautiful inside and out (swipe right for a sneak at some illustrations that’ll blow your mind, it blew mine).


This was a fun, beautifully written story of a boy and his very special dog. As a 2 pup dog mom this was up my alley even at 32 years old I loved it. I can’t wait to share this with my nieces and nephews!!

- Christine, Book Reviewer, New Hampshire, USA -- @inked_up_bookshelf

Screen Shot 2023-01-06 at 1.11.54 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-13 at 3.59.03 PM.png

“The material things in this world are not nearly as important as the quality of the people you choose to have in your life.”

This book transported me back to my days living in Somerset, near Stonehenge, and I loved the nostalgia it evoked. It was wonderful to see the rescue dog representation in this book. While reading with my children, I was reminded of Matt Haig's "How to Stop Time," a book I already adore. I love that we got to hear the author's stories for his grandchildren. It was an incredible honour. There were beautiful illustrations throughout the book, and I enjoyed seeing the behind-the-scenes of the images at the end. It was very unique, and the story-to-image ratio was perfect, which kept my girls interested in the story and the characters. The chapters are just the right length for bedtime stories. We've had a great time with Jimmy and Andrew, learning about Andrew's past while also being educated on a variety of topics!

- Heidi R., Mom & Book Reviewer, United Kingdom-- @heidiandherbooks

☀️ Jimmy and Andrew are both sweet, fun, and curious characters that keep you turning the pages! I was immediately sold when I found out there was a talking dog and he could read minds! This story is full of historical references combined with fantasy fun that creates action, conflict, adventure and resolution. It is full of imagination and wonderings as each chapter peaks your curiosity. The full-page illustrations are absolutely beautiful and compliment the story perfectly. This is suitable for middle-grade readers and will encourage creativity and adventurous fun! Looking forward to the next book in the series! ☀️

- Carly Sunshine, Community Literacy Advocate, California, USA -- @carlysunshinebooks

Screen Shot 2022-12-13 at 3.38.53 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-13 at 3.35.04 PM.png

✔️ Avery unique story of a dog (Andrew) who has been alive since the time of King Tut and his newest owner nine year old Jimmy ⁣
✔️I loved that Jimmy and Andrew could communicate telepathically ! ⁣
✔️ lots of (accurate) history from around the world weaved into one story⁣
✔️beautiful illustrations ⁣

Perfect for the kids on Santa’s good list this year !⁣


- Ceylan G., Bookstagrammer, Ontario, Canada -- @reader_ceygo

Book one takes us to Washington state, with the discovery of an American Stonehenge! But not all is what it seems. How does this find tie back to Andrew’s history? How does this tie back to the Stonehenge in England? And what other mysteries are there, just waiting to be solved?

American Stonehenge is a fantastic middle grade book that weaves in lessons of history and mythology with absolutely wonderful fantasy and Sci-Fi elements! With an emphasis on family and friends - this book just takes you on the best kind of adventure!

- Stephanie C., Mom & Book Blogger, New Jersey, USA -- @pocketsized_pageturner

Screen Shot 2022-12-13 at 3.21.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-12-13 at 3.12.02 PM.png

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My thoughts 🖋️
A perfect read for people of all ages, especially young readers! As an illustrated edition, we get to experience Jimmy and Andrew’s adventure on a greater level. Jimmy adopts Andrew, a dog from a shelter who turns out to be an immortal pup more than 3,000 years old! Even better, they can communicate telepathically.💭

When a replica of a Stonehenge from England is found in the forests of Washington, Jimmy and Andrew’s adventure begins. Mike Goldstein is wonderful storyteller and takes readers into a world full of characters that are even more fascinating! I was pleasantly surprised by the ending and know that book two will be just as exciting!

- Riss, Writer & Reviewer, New York, USA -- @rissreviews_xx

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5/5

❄️ If you are searching for a book to buy to read with your children under the Christmas lights on Christmas eve then you should defently buy this one! It is a book about true frienship between a boy and his dog. It also follows their adventures throughout history and the illustrations are amazing. It is such an enjoyable read full of suspense, mystery and history information that will hold your interest till the end.

It was so sweet to read how close friends Jimmy and Andrew were, it really touched my heart as I have a dog and I love the relationship between him and my two year old daughter. I am sure this is her favourite bedtime story, mine too.

🎀This is the perfect Christmas gift for the whole family.

- Elina S., Book Blogger, Mesologgi, Greece -- @elinasbookstagram

Screen Shot 2022-11-30 at 4.08.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-11-30 at 4.00.19 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a cute and fun middle grade adventure novel. It also has very cute illustrain each chapter that help bring the story to life.


Jimmy has always wanted a dog and finally for his 9th birthday he gets to go to the shelter and rescue a pup. He ends up with Andrew, a 3000 yo dog who was not only born in Egypt and lived all over, but can communicate with Jimmy in his mind. They go of to an adventure exploring an ancient site with Jimmy’s parents and making new friends along the way.


I enjoyed the history aspect of the story, as well as its approach to treating nature with care, Vietnam war veterans with PTSD, Native communities, culture and preservation of nature and historical sites.

- Ana Lucía, Mom & Book Reviewer, Puerto Rico -- @alsanchezbooks

I wish I had this book when I was a kid... imagine getting to adopt a dog on your bday, from the humane society! And then imagine having the ability to talk with that dog via telepathy! DREAM COME TRUE!!!!

Andrew (the dog) was an Immortal from Egypt!!! As someone who loves Egypt, I was getting super jealous of Jimmy.

As someone who always wanted to be an archeologist, when I read about Andrew not only got to talk to his dog but also had parents who were archeologists, I was insanely jealous!

Then when it so happened that Jimmy and his dog gets to go on these insane adventures when his parents found The Stonehenge (a duplicate of course) in England... my jealousy was 10 fold!

- Ovi Eks, Digital Creator, South Carolina, USA -- @acourtofspinesnpages

Screen Shot 2022-11-17 at 11.35.53 AM.png

🌼OMG!! What a thrilling and exciting book it is, I read it in just three days! Filled with extra ordinary, beautiful and colourful illustrations this book tells us a tale like no other. This book was my companion on my trip and I felt like I myself was the part of the story.

Everything in it is brought out so well, the language, the plot and the characters are shaped so beautifully that I could visualize everything while I was reading it. It’s like a light and fun read, something that’s easy breezy and yet so much fun to indulge into.

Dive in the greatest adventure that’s gonna fill your life with so many good values and life lessons. I absolutely loves the themes of the story especially friendship! I truly loved it and I will highly recommend it.

Rating: 4.5⭐️

- Rutuja Ramteke, Book Reviewer, India -- @rutuja_ramteke_

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ This is a pretty awesome book and the first in the Jimmy and Andrew adventure series. Jimmy is a young lad who has always wanted a dog, and so, for his ninth birthday, his Dad takes him to the rescue centre and Jimmy chooses Andrew - or rather Andrew, chooses Jimmy!

Written as a children’s book, this will easily entertain and educate adults, too. I certainly didn’t know about some things Goldstein writes about, in particular, the Egyptian history he explains in great detail, through Andrew (yes, the dog)! As we travel on Jimmy’s adventures, if there are words or situations that he doesn’t understand, these are explained to him and consequently, any kids reading the book will learn lots of new stuff too.

I googled American Stonehenge, and it really exists, although in New Hampshire, not Washington State. Something else that I wasn’t aware of but loved reading about.

Think Enid Blyton’s Famous Five, meets Harry Potter with some aliens thrown in and you’ll have a good idea of what you’ll be getting with American Stonehenge. Immerse yourself in Jimmy and Andrew’s world and enjoy the journey. I’m looking forward to the next adventure for them both.

- Samantha, Book Blogger, Warwickshire, UK -- @sams_fireside

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 12.31.56 PM.png

🐶 Rating: 4 ⭐️ 🐶 Thoughts:
I don't usually read middle grade books, so this one piqued my interest, especially since one of the main characters is a dog 🐶. The story began when Jimmy, a 9-year-old boy, went to a humane center to adopt a dog for his birthday. There he met his new pet/best friend Andrew (the dog), who possesses the ability to read both human and dog minds. Surprisingly, Jimmy can hear Andrew's thoughts as well! That's how they began telepathically communicating with one another. The story was very interesting, especially when their adventure began. Jimmy's family went on a trip where his parents, who were both archaeologists, had to inspect a stone structure known as Stonehenge. I'm not a big fan of history, but this book contains some fascinating facts about Egyptian history. The plot was very unique, and I also enjoyed looking at the illustrations! And it was fascinating to learn more about Andrew and his previous lives. The book also has some interesting side characters, particularly Pete, who seemed suspicious at first. However, I felt like the pacing of the book was a little slow; it dragged for me, especially the parts where all they do is talk to each other. Overall, it was an exciting, fun, and light read with a touch of fantasy that was definitely worth a try, especially for young readers. It also ended well, giving some hints about the next installment.

- Rhea, Book Blogger, Philippines -- @rheareads_

This was such a fun and unique story. I think this could definitely be a staple in middle grade classrooms across the US.


The plot was fun - one could also say crazy at times. It’s super engaging all throughout the book and is such a good blend of history and fantasy. The book is so successful at educating the reader while still being entertaining and fun. I really enjoyed the illustrations as well.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Sophie, Book Reviewer, Denmark -- @fictiondaydreams

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 12.28.04 PM.png
  • A delightful children's book that would be an adventure into the depths of the author's creativity, most suitable for readers in all countries of all ages.

  •  The author surpassed my expectations with the rich tapestry of words that showed me the world of Jimmy and Andrew.

  • There was something so endearing about the characters that the story invited me to immerse myself in their lives and go on this trip.

  • Their communication and bonding with each other brought out the meaning of true friendship that rested in their hearts.

  • It was not often that I came across a book that would amalgamate history and fantasy well together in a children's book, along with science-fiction. Yes, yes, there were aliens too.

  • The subplots were woven tight together in such a manner that it felt I was traveling with them to investigate the mysteries that were written in.

  • Did I mention the book is part graphic? Yes, it is a semi-illustrated novel of 277 pages. That meant I got to visualize the precise scenes and read about them as they happened since the beautifully detailed pictures brought the story to life in my mind. That was another adventure waiting to happen.

  • I was not too fond of the hunting scenes, only because I wouldn't know how children would perceive the concept or if those scenes had to be airbrushed by their parents.

  • I was happy that I got to spend time with Jimmy and Andrew as they were two characters worthy of my attention. I liked how a children's book made me forget my world for a few hours and prickled my curiosity to know more about theirs. 

  •  The book was detailed with wonderful, clear graphics, where the voices of the main characters along with their actions stood strong.

- Shalini, Book Reviewer, India -- @digitalreadsmedia

Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 1.07.48 PM.png
Copy of Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 1.07.25 PM.png


Author Goldstein’s characters are well-developed, with positive values, responsibility, and curiosity. Historical subjects are mostly well researched, with footnoted updates. His plot is action-packed, moving from King Tut’s days to current times. Richly colored illustrations lend an almost graphic novel feel to the book.

Middle grade readers will learn about adventuring, King Tut, homelessness, Vietnam vets, PTSD, hunting for/preserving meat, Native American beliefs, witch trials, Bigfoot, technology vs ecology, and more. In fact, there are too many focus shifts for just one book! It could easily have been two books, split before Jimmy and friends learn the gremlins’ origins.

While most historical references seem accurate, the Iron Age Britain illustration includes two women dressed like B-movie stars (with modern bras), and two men in plaid pants. The Iron Age was 750BC-AD43, before women wore modern bras. Plaid wasn’t invented until the 1700s.

This is a good read-alone book for middle graders with average to long attention spans. Or a read-along book for those with shorter attention spans, with a chapter or two read/discussed at a time. It’s a refreshing alternative to many middle grade books, and it’s 4 stars from me. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Linda Kimura, Book Blogger, Arizona, USA -- @arizonabookstagrammer

Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 12.57.25 PM.png

✨This is such a fun MG adventure, y’all. I loved the dual storylines-learning about Andrew‘s history and how his very long, immortal life intersects with Jimmy’s. The mystery that the pair uncovers was exciting, engaging, and creative. All in all, this book would make an amazing family read aloud, or a perfect read for a cup of tea and a relaxing afternoon. It was such a good time.

✨Read if:

  • You love historical mysteries, archaeology

  • Illustrated books, full color-beautiful illustrations

  • MG adventures

  • Immortal companions, magical realism, incredible friendships, and exciting adventures

✨This was an amazing MG read, a great story, and I definitely recommend it, y’all!!

- Lou B., Book Reviewer, Texas, USA -- @louturnspages

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5

This was a fantastic story with a fun blend of fantasy and history. The more whimsical elements such as Andrew, the dog, being able to read both canine and human thoughts helped round out the historical parts throughout the book. I loved the concept of learning history through the dogs eyes. This adventure is full of practical life lessons and surprising twists. The beautiful artwork sprinkled throughout the book also helped bring the story to life. This is a great book with a timeless story perfect for all ages!

- Aly L., Book Reviewer, Michigan, USA -- @bookish_aly_cat

Screen Shot 2022-10-31 at 11.56.08 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-31 at 11.52.13 AM.png

In this lovely adventure story, Mike Goldstein skillfully expressed his originality. The plot’s ingenuity is astounding. It features distinctive characters, including aliens. The graphics are incredibly well done. The minute elements have been carefully considered. The narrative is captivating, packed with action in each chapter, and features clear, thorough language and lovely images that beautifully depict the unfolding event. A psychic dog and young child duo with a thirst for adventure, a captivating and engaging tale, beautiful pictures, and the ideal blending of history and fantasy. Everyone should read it since it’s a beautiful book, and I’m sure they’ll all find it as charming as I did.
🌼🌼
Beautiful pictures decorate the book. The segment showing the methods used to create the illustrations, “behind the scenes,” was fantastic. This novel has everything for everyone, including new friendships, teamwork, science fiction, history, fantasy, action, adventure, and discovery. An original plot that would appeal to many middle schoolers. Interesting idea with the canine. Interesting idea with the canine. It’s a light, enjoyable book that’s also very educational. Since it is to deserving of being a series, I hope there will be a second book! I would recommend this book because it was an overall entertaining adventure novel with some interesting characters!
🌼🌼 Rating of the book- 5⭐/5⭐

- Trishita Das, Book Reviewer, Kolkata, India -- @book_withquotes

Its taken until now to review as it’s been passed around all the children in my life (who loved it).

This book isn’t just a book of friendship with Jimmy and Andrew but also partnership as they embark on their adventure together. I found this book very educational and taught me as a 40yr old a lot of history. It was such an enjoyable book and the illustrations are phenomenal. Highly recommend especially to young readers

- Lianne, Book Blogger, Ontario, Canada -- @lianne_the_bibliphile

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.33.39 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.30.42 PM.png

I love that American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein takes place in the forests of Northern Washington.
Alyssa and I love hiking and we spend quite a bit of time in forests of Washington!

This is a wonderfully illustrated edition about Jimmy and Andrew and their adventures!

American Stonehenge is a great read for middle schoolers, but I think all ages can enjoy this book!


- Casey & Alyssa, Book Reviewers, Washington, USA -- @welikebigbooksandwecannotlie

I haven’t read a story like this before, ever. It’s mysterious and intriguing while taking some historical aspects and making them into fantasy with such a different turn.

It was interesting and peculiar how the main character Jimmy was able to communicate telepathically with Andrew, the dog he just adopted. Every chapter was a new surprise!

It’s a middle grade book with such creative illustrations! A story full of mystery, friendship, archeology and magical adventures. The relationship between the characters is so honest and sweet that you’ll wish to be part of it.

- Regina "Rex", Artist/Writer, Mexico -- @my.book.nooks

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.24.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.19.32 PM.png

Jimmy wants a dog so bad that his parents take him to the dog shelter on his ninth birthday to pick one. That's when he realises that there's a dog who can speak to him through thought and decides to take it. When they get home his new dog, already named Andrew, tells him his extraordinary story. He's 3.300 years old and can hear humans' thoughts. Not many people or animals can hear him back though and that can be pretty lonely. He doesn't know why he is like that and is still looking for answers.


When Jimmy's father takes his family to the new secret excavation at an extraordinary site, a great adventure begins where along with Pete, a Vietnam veteran, they will uncover some great mysteries of human history.

The book is very sweet and very nicely illustrated by Anil Baydir, a Turkish artist. I loved how the author respectfully portrays native Americans, their relationship with the environment and way of life.

I loved it and can wait to read book 2 of the series.

- Sofia, Translator, Athens, Greece -- @silverchildsbooks

This book was gifted to me by the author in exchange for an honest review and this book is so cute, and fun! For a kids book there was plenty of adult situations that I feel like the author handled wonderfully making it relatable and maybe seeing Jimmy go thru hardships can help kids understand it better! Also it was fun to see the little twists in stories on real structures and events! Also this book is stunning! The artwork is phenomenal and it really added to the story! I give American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Jahara, Book Reviewer, Colorado, USA -- @jarjarbindings

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.12.49 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.12.38 PM.png

American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein is a middle-grade novel with stunning illustrations.
Jimmy, a nine-year-old, has always wanted a dog. 

Mike Goldstein is a master storyteller and this book was an absolute delight to read.  The colorful illustrations with intricate detailing made this a great reading experience. It has everything to keep you hooked to it - found friendship, fantasy, science, archeology, and European and Egyptian history with a heavy dose of action and adventure. It reminded me of the adventure books I used to read in childhood.


- Aneela, Book Blogger, Pakistan -- @the_mystique_reader

This is an enchanting read that transports the reader on a magical adventure. As a dog lover, i myself have always pondered what my dog was thinking, what their interests are, etc. The relationship between Jimmy and Andrew is probably one we’ve all wished we had with our pet, and i really loved how the author blended together fantasy and history. The illustrations throughout the book just add to the overall experience.

- Ashley, Book Blogger, Deleware, USA -- @slowerlowerliving

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.37.59 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.23.37 PM.png

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
.
📚This was a cute, enjoyable and unique read. This story talks about Jimmy and the adventure he goes on with his talking dog Andrew! All of the characters were really interesting and had their own unique personality! This story also had a really unique plot that takes you on an unexpected direction!


📚I really enjoyed the adventure that the author took us on and you can really tell he has an eye for history. The author bases his story on the history of the different parts of the world. The world building in this story was amazing and the author did a really good job at making you feel apart of the story!


📚There was a lot of conversation during a few chapters of the book and it did slow the plot down a bit but once you get past that it’s really enjoyable. There were quite a few twists and turns in the story, that I had to go back a few times to fully understand what was going on


📚Overall, this was a fun, adventure story

- Bianca, Book Reviewer, Melbourne, Australia -- @exclusively_bookish

I haven't read a middle grade book in a long time, and I was really surprised with American Stonehenge. I enjoyed it and I found the plot quite interesting and even a little crazy. The plot development is intriguing, and the pictures are eye-catching, it captures your attention from the first page.

I think that if I read this to my niece, she will love it because, as I mentioned before, it is a book with a lot of fantastic and jaw-dropping things. This book has monsters and aliens!!

Moreover, the rhythm of the plot is good, I didn't get bored in any moment and the characters are entertaining, and they stole my heart. American Stonehenge was a read out of my comfort zone, with an interesting premise and endearing characters. 📖: ★★★★

- Arianna, Book Blogger, Lima, Perú -- @ariathebookaholic

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.17.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.12.38 PM.png

As a connoisseur, if you will, of middle grade books (former middle school teacher right here!), I know what it takes to write a book that will hook a middle schooler. This book did just that! Jimmy and Andrew are the perfect duo, and haven’t we all wished we could communicate telepathically with our dog at some point? This book was fast moving, filled to the brim with history, art, science, etc, and overall a fast paced action novel that kept me turning pages. I absolutely loved the characters, and would absolutely share this book with my students!


- Anna, English Teacher, California, USA -- @bound.to.reading

I love this book for so many reasons! The story starts in my hometown, San Diego where Jimmy is promised that he can adopt a dog for his 9th birthday. When the day finally arrives, they go to the Humane Society. His dad advices Jimmy to let the dog choose him, and that's exactly what happens. It turns out that his dog Andrew is over 3,000 years old, and can communicate telepathically. The duo sets off on an adventure with his archeologist


Dad and his Mom to study a newly discovered set of ruins resembling Stonehenge in Washington State. As the story unfolds we learn more about Andrew's past lives. There are many mysteries to unravel, and we are introduced to a cast of intriguing characters.

The beautifully detailed illustrations by Anil Baydir @anilduyal through out the book help you visualize key scenes. Middle Grade readers will enjoy this book because of its blend of mystery, history and adventure. It also would be a great book for parents and children to read together. As an avid dog lover and supporter of rescue organizations, I really appreciate that the fictional Andrew was adopted from the @sdhumanesociety 🐕

- R. Bandy, Mom/Book Fairy, California, USA -- @lflbookadventures

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.04.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-03 at 3.19.33 PM.png

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


A stunning historical fantasy novel for children accompanied by exquisite illustrations. Jimmy has always wanted a dog and on his birthday, he is allowed to visit an adoption shelter. As he walks along the cages, he hears a voice asking to be rescued! He can communicate with a dog! Andrew the dog is adopted and so begins the deep bond and adventures of this incredible duo.

 

The book takes us on some incredible historical journeys: Egypt; Iron Age Britain; American Stonehenge... It is exciting and new and promises to be the first of many more adventures. The full colour copy makes beautiful read. It is a book full of adventure and spirit.

- Karla B.M., Book Reviewer, Northern Ireland -- @karla_bookishlife

These two companions go with Jimmy’s dad a site that looks to be an American replica of Stonehenge and from there, the adventures are limitless.

This is definitely a book for all ages! My son had a great time reading passages of this novel with me and loved the beautiful illustrations. Andrew, the dog, has such a cool backstory and we get to see history through ages from his experience. This book manages to be light and fun while still educating the reader and will be great to introduce children to different historical events and times. The illustrations are meticulously detailed and engaging.

- Cassidee L., Mom/Blogger, Michigan, USA -- @cassidee.omnilegent

Screen Shot 2022-09-29 at 2.07.19 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.57.34 PM.png

A truly fun and exciting adventure book for ages young and old. Though this is considered Middle Grade, I am not of middle grade age and still loved it!

Jimmy has wanted a dog his entire young life. On his 9th birthday he goes to the shelter to find a dog to adopt. Andrew is over 3,000 years old but you wouldn’t know it by his doggy body. When Jimmy realizes he can head Andrew via telepathy Jimmy knows he has found his dog. From this point on the adventure begin as art meets history meets adventure. While traveling through history not does the reader get to experience the adventure with them, but they also learn quite a bit along the way.

The format of this book reminds me of adventure books I grew up reading and the illustrations help bring the page alive.

- Kelly K., Mom, Florida, USA -- @spaceonthebookcase

Jimmy gets the chance to adopt a dog from a shelter for his birthday, something that he always wanted. No sooner than later he finds out that he and the dog Andrew can communicate telepathically!! Wholesome, right?

That's not it. It turns out that the dog is immortal and born in Egypt three thousand years ago. The duo takes on their first adventure in the remote forests of northern Washington, where Jimmy's archaeologist parents excavate a replica of Stonehenge from England, in America, therefore the book's title!

With lots of mysteries to unfold, about this American Stonehenge and Andrew's origins, this perfectly organised book takes on the readers for an adventure of a lifetime.

Everything about the book is brilliant. Engaging and intriguing storyline, marvellous illustrations, perfect blend of history and fantasy, a telepathic dog and kid combo with an urge for adventure. It's a wonderful book that's totally worth reading by people of all ages, and I'm sure everyone will find it lovely as much as I did.

Perfect for the young and the old, this book is packed with action, adventure, history, fantasy, the connection and the friendship of the protagonists, fast paced and I loved the behind the scenes- element in the book that tells about the process of creating these marvellous illustrations right from the scratch. It's the author's first book and the first in this series, I'm excited to see what comes next! I only wonder why I didn't read this one earlier. I'm falling in love with middle-grade fantasy fiction!

🌟5/5

- Harsh Tyagi, Book Reviewer, India -- @readsandmusic

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.57.34 PM.png

 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​
American Stonehenge is a fun, light and fantastical middle grade novel, with beautiful and surprising images. This is a book your kids will want to read over and over again. It tells a story about a boy named Jimmy and his friend, Andrew who is just over 3,000 years old! Andrew is interesting for many reasons, but one of the best is that he can communicate telepathically with both people and dogs. Plus he takes Jimmy on adventures. This is a book that explores history and the arts, using elements of fantasy, science fiction and adventure. The friendship is well-developed, and the characters are likable.​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​
And, as a bonus, it made me love my sweet rescue dogs even more than I already did!​​​​​​​​

- Kelly Hunsaker, Ex-Lawyer, Colorado, USA -- @kelly_hunsaker_reads

A boy and his dog are always adventure pals but imagine what would happen if they could talk to each other telepathically! This story is fun, educational and the book has beautiful illustrations throughout.

American Stonehenge is a great middle grade read.

Thank you @jimmyandandrew for this gifted copy. I can’t wait to read it with my nieces and nephews when they are old enough!

- Emma Groves, Cat Mom, Oregon, USA -- @emmareadsoutside

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.52.23 PM.png

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

American Stonehenge is a truly fascinating and unique adventure story coupled with stunning illustrations from start to finish.


Jimmy has longed for a dog all hid life and on his ninth birthday he gets his wish! He goes to the local humane society to choose his dog (or rather his dog choose him as his dad advises). When walking through the Kennels he hears a voice speaking to him but no one is around. He soon realises it a dog speaking to him telepathically. Jimmy just knows this is the dog he must choose and that's chosen him. This part of the story reminded me of Lilo and Stitch which is a film I adore. And this is where Jimmy and Andrews (the dog) story and adventures take off. Jimmy and Andrew are such an adorable and amazing team and I loved both characters so much. We meet a host of different characters and go to many different places and I couldn't put this book down. There's something for everyone in this book - found friendship, teamwork, sci-fi, science, history, fantasy, action, adventure, discovery and art. I really hope there will be a second book as it is so worthy of being a series!


- Natalie H., Book Reviewer, Lancashire, UK -- @all_books_great_and_small

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.41.07 PM.png

📜 Jimmy’s dog Andrew can talk to him telepathically. He’s immortal, born in Egypt more than three thousand years ago. 😱 On an adventure together they learn about Andrew’s origin as well as so much more along the way. 📜

This book is just absolutely stunning and so fun. The illustrations are beyond gorgeous. It’s definitely a read together or read aloud kind of book that may take a few nights or a week but that’s part of the charm here for sure. Full of adventure and interesting facts, I can’t wait to see what’s next for Jimmy and Andrew.


I’m just in LOVE with this book. ♥️

- Beth S., Mom & Book Reviewer, Florida, USA -- @ladybug_shirls

What a fun adventure book! And what a treat that the book is illustrated. I found my inner middle school self ecstatic over such a unique story filled with historical fiction, mysterious forest people, and a talking immortal dog from Egypt! The main characters are a 9 year old boy and his telepathically “talking” dog, which made for a fun perspective. I found myself reading non stop. Instantly upon finishing , I was excited about their next adventure, which the book ending teases you with. I can’t wait to read more!

I would recommend this for young readers or YA adventure readers who love dogs!

My only negative comment would be that the narrative between characters seemed very formal and did not flow as well as I would have liked.

Thanks to @jimmyandandrew for sending me this book in exchange for my honest opinion and review. I accepted because I knew it was right up my alley, and I’m so glad I did!

Of course I also had to take the opportunity to include my puppy in the pic since Jimmy wouldn’t have had it any other way!

- Elizabeth Sultan, Reader & Blogger, California, USA -- @thedrunktravelingbookworm

Screen Shot 2022-08-30 at 11.31.43 AM.png
Chapter27-Final-caption copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2022-08-30 at 11.27.43 AM.png

Rating 5 ⭐
 

A dog who is three thousand and three hundred years old, a mysterious stone structure just like a stone henge, archaeological department discover it in America's Jungle, this is enough to make me glued to this book.

Jimmy, a nine years old boy wishes to get a pet dog. On his birthday he went with his father to get a dog and meet Andrew, a very special dog. Soon after that night, Jimmy's father told him that their archeological team discovered a stone henge in the heart of a jungle. And the jungle also has some unknown mysteries inside it. Jimmy and his family with the dog Andrew, went off to the jungle on an adventurous journey.

I am a sucker for adventure movies and books, and this is The best adventure book ever! Though it's a middle-grade book anyone would enjoy this. The author touched on some historical facts in this book. European and Egyptian history is the most fascinating part of this journey. It has a fantastic atmospheric narrative. I have enjoyed reading this so much.

With beautiful illustrations, this book gives me full enjoyment. Can't afford to miss this book, guys.

- Mili Das, Book Reviewer, Kolkata, India -- @theladylivesinbook

This story is filled with imagination, forest people, an American Stonehenge, a priest clan and an ancient dog! I loved Jimmy and the dog's relationship the most, their bond is so precious.

 

There are elements of discovery, history and art within the book that I so loved!

This is the first book in a middle grade series. The writing style is enchanting and effortless and the beautiful illustrations captivated me.If you love a middle grade book filled with history, adventure and solving a mystery then definitely read this. It's a beautiful book and I would like to say a huge thank you to Mike for sending his gorgeous book out to me.


I loved learning about Mike how he got into writing at the start of the book which was so fascinating 🍁

- Ruby Sloane, Book Reviewer, United Kingdom -- @@xrubyreadsx

Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 5.06.03 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 5.02.40 PM.png

American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein can best be described as an upper middle grade mystery with science fiction and fantasy elements. When Jimmy adopts a dog, Andrew, from the local animal shelter, he quickly discovers that Andrew is not only telepathic, but immortal. Together, the two accompany Jimmy’s archaeologist parents to the remote forests of northern Washington, where a fully intact duplicate of England’s Stonehenge has been discovered. Could this American Stonehenge hold the secret to Andrew’s past? 

The first in a series, this book is based on stories that the author used to tell his grandson at bedtime – which is just too sweet for words. There is a lot of Egyptian history and mythology woven in and, since I happened to be reading this while also watching Moon Knight, that element of the story really came to life for me.  In addition to an interest in ancient Egypt, kids who like dogs, mysteries, and aliens might enjoy this unique and expansive tale. The physical book itself is very high quality – much bigger than a typical book, with thick, glossy pages and full color illustrations.

- Christy, Family of Readers, California, USA -- @wereadlikethat

I took one look and was sold.

Standing Stones. Check. Animal Companions. Check. Middle Grades appropriate. Check.

There is so much about this story that grips the reader from the start but the illustrations give it an extra umph and I couldn’t put it down.

It is definitely a book I can put into the hands of middle school students that love mystical adventure and history.


- Stephanie, mom & book blogger, North Carolina, USA -- @books_and_cozyblankets

Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 4.53.42 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-15 at 1.15.39 PM.png

When I received the book in my post I was amazed! The illustrations of the book itself are so beautiful and the format itself is ideal for the young audience. I recommend this book for middle school students although I won’t deny this to adults since it is a very relaxing and easy read. It is the first book from a set of series that I can’t wait to read and collect. This review here is my honest opinion.

I highly recommend this book especially to our younger audience. Probably from age 9 onwards. As I said before the illustrations are something out of this world. Every chapter has a page dedicated to an illustration. The language of the book is quite easy to read and the description of the characters and locations are so detailed that one could easily imagine them. There are various valuable themes including sincere friendships, communication, history and also life in general. This book is a solid 4 stars for me.

- Kimberly, Book Reviewer, Malta -- @onceuponamaltesereader

American Stonehenge told a story about Jimmy and his (not so) new buddy, Andrew, whom turned out to be over 3000-years-old and could also read both canine and human thoughts. I mean, they could really communicate telepathically. How wonderful is that!? Together, they went on many adventures to discover clues to the special dog's mysterious origins.

 

Accompanied with wonderfully detailed and fascinating colored illustrations, this book is such a page turner! It’s like history meets arts, fantasy, and science fiction then creates an incredible adventure and fast-paced action. Fantastic! The friendship between Jimmy and Andrew are very adorable, they really hit it off. All the characters are also very well-developed.

It’s a fun, light, entertaining, yet highly educational reads. Not to mention has successfully made me desperately wanting have a dog more than ever! 🐶

- Grace, Book Reviewer, Indonesia -- @graceinbooks

Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 3.09.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 3.00.57 PM.png

We absolutely loved this book, the pictures were amazing, the attention to detail & so much history. My kids as well as my husband and I learned so much about history we didn’t know.

Quinn - I loved the part where Andrew told the story about the child king in Egypt.

Harris - I loved that Jimmy & Andrew could talk to each other. Also all the stories Andrew told Jimmy. And the pictures were awesome!!!

This book is a great read for anyone, children & adults. It was a 5⭐️read for us & as a family we highly recommend this book!

- Autumn, Quinn & Harris, Family, Canada -- @aj_books5

4.5⭐

 

Let me start by saying that this story is like none other that I hv previously seen or read. 

I read this one to my 7yr old daughter and she got super excited listening to a story from dogs POV. As their adventure begins we see elements of history, art to some extent even science fiction and fantasy making it a wholesome and a fascinating reading experience. The illustrations are wonderful, bright and colourful apt for children to visualise the story.


The characters are the best part of the book , the writing is effortless that one gets easily immersed in the adventure and we can't help but wait to go in more such adventures with them in the future. In my opinion this book would be highly suitable to slightly older children 10+ and every dog lover no matter the age!!

- Nitisha, Mom & Blogger, India -- @our_readingjourney

Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 2.54.36 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 2.49.29 PM.png

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


From the very first sentence we was hooked. The story flowed throughout and just became so intriguing, me and my children couldn't put this book down, we needed to know what happened next, the story kept revealing more and more!
Jimmy so desperately wants a dog, and on his 9th birthday his dad takes him to a dog home, where he was the told to let dog choose him. The dog that chose him, is in fact immortal and he can read human thoughts and Jimmy can communicate with Andrew, the dog telepathically. They embark on such an epic adventure that when they think they've heard it all they see something out of this world! We love the characters they're all easy to like and we enjoyed learning about Andrew's past and the history. The illustrations really brought this to life, it was beautiful to see the love between Jimmy and Andrew. The tricky words in the book were explained, which taught my children new descriptive words. The context in this story can teach young readers, to think about reducing waste, hunting for food for the right reasons and people's behavior, it's very inspirational. I cannot wait for the next book- can you tell!!!

- Melina R., Mom & Book Reviewer, London, UK -- @mumwithabook

My thoughts…


Captivating. Goldstein was a great storyteller. The story, at times, brought me back to my childhood. The book was filled with adventure, hope and resilience. Even though there were stories of hardship and despair, they were relatable and child friendly. The action and fast-paced story was balanced by great descriptions and reflections. And, of course, I just loved the story of the boy and his dog 🐾💙 I was captivated by this story and the beautiful illustrations. If you’re looking for an inspirational children’s book, and a book that even adults could get lost in, this might be the book for you!


- Annie, dog & book blogger, Manitoba, Canada -- @pawsandpagesbyannie

Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 1.29.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 3.13.35 PM.png

The adventures of Jimmy and Andrew: American Stonehenge by author Mike Goldstein @jimmyandandrew is a wonderful middle grade story where Jimmy finnaly gets a dog for his Nineth birthday and realizes that he can communicate telepathically with his new friend, who is not only very smart, but also very old !
.
I enjoyed this one a lot! I loved the friendship between Jimmy and Andrew and all the characters were very well presented. Besides teaching some history, I liked the fact that doesn't shy away from talking about difficult topics, and also taking the time to explain certain words and phases that the kids reading might have trouble understanding. The story itself was super interesting, and not at all what I was expecting, but in the best of ways, will definitely be reading the next book. Totally recommend it!

- Carol Avilés, Blogger, Puerto Varas, Chile -- @chilean_reader

I really appreciate the creativity & effort gone into it that teach about important periods of history. It's an exciting & fun concept!

I especially enjoyed the ancient Egyptian sections, and the aliens were particularly humorous!! The full page colour illustrations added something extra to the experience & teaches values/new vocabulary that would appeal to my students!! I don't know what it is but young kids seem to be captivated by anything morbid or dark so even witch trials & scary monsters, it would be right up their alley 😂😂 I don't often read middle grades but I was impressed- very good job!!

Good luck with the rest of the series & can't wait to see what you come up with next! ✨

- Kate, English Teacher & Author, London, UK -- @kate_talks_about_books

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 3.07.14 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.58.34 PM.png

💛  Typically, I don’t have the opportunity to read many children’s book as I’m the baby of my family at 34. When the opportunity arose for me to read and review American Stonehenge, I was initially a bit skeptical. What do I know about writing for kids? Not much. As I did a bit of research into this book, I noticed the main character lives in San Diego, my hometown. He adopted his dog from the humane society. His dog is 4,000 years old and communicate telepathically. He and said dog go with his archeologist parents to study a newly discovered (and possibly enchanted) set of ruins resembling Stonehenge here in the states! All of those little things added up to a story I couldn’t resist!

💛  I am so glad I stepped out of my adult reading for this book because it was so much fun! Jimmy and his pup Andrew were a joy to read about and the twists in the story kept it engaging. I also really loved the discussion of being good stewards toward nature. As an avid outdoors person, that is a super important message to me. Plus, the book is full of beautiful artwork to help you visualize key scenes. It was just the right mix of sweet, mysterious, and adventurous! I think it would be great for middle grade readers, but is absolutely enjoyable across many age groups. I can specifically imagine this being a family favorite for parents and kids to read together at bedtime.

💙  Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Kaitlin, Book Reviewer, Nevada, USA -- @bandysbooks

🪨 Highly recommended book 🪨

American Stonehenge is one of the most original, entertaining and educational middle grade book I've ever read.

The story introduces a set of amazing characters, but in my opinion Andrew absolutely steals the spotlight. We meet Jimmy and all he wants for his birthday is to own a dog. He gets his wish and goes into the humane society with his father and is meet by Andrew. Jimmy is in awe when he notices that Andrew can communicate with him through telepathy, but there's just one thing, Andrew is a dog.

From this moment on, Andrew tells Jimmy his life long story, from his vivid moments as a pup, to his time living in Egypt and even having survived the infamous witch trials. We immediately find out that Andrew is immortal and has lived for thousands of years.

Jimmy's parents are archeologists and they have a once in a lifetime opportunity to research what is probably the most important discovery in recent decades. An exact replica of Stonehenge is unearthed in Washington and Andrew is convinced this is an important part to discovering why he has his powers. The author did such a phenomenal job at researching and creating such memorable characters. Andrew's story was incredible to read, and his friendship with Jimmy is so genuine that you will absolutely fall in love with their dynamic.

👉I am super excited to see what the sequel will bring for our amazing duo!


- Cristy, Blogger, Florida, USA -- @quinnbook

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.30.03 PM.png

The first of their numerous adventures starts when Jimmy rescues Andrew from the pound. Jimmy and Andrew travel with their parents, who are archaeologists, on an excavation of a recently found site in the distant woodlands of northern Washington. The discovery, which is a perfectly preserved replica of Stonehenge in England, is shrouded in mystery, which Jimmy and Andrew must solve. What led to the formation of this Stonehenge? Why do so many odd things keep happening in its vicinity? What has this psychic canine been doing for the past 3,000 years? The answers to these questions and more are awaiting you in Jimmy and Andrew's first grand adventure!

Mike Goldstein has articulated his creativity in a craftful way in this beautiful adventurous story. The characters are lovable. They are going to stay with readers for a long time. The language is easy and conversational. The style of narration is gripping that keeps one hooked till the end. I enjoyed the idea of experiencing history through a dog's eyes. The book has beautiful illustrations. I loved the "behind the scenes" section that demonstrates the techniques of the illustrations. I am looking forward to the sequel. I highly recommend this book.

- Juhi Bandyopadhyay, Book Reviewer, India -- @_book_island_

it’s a book about a child named Jimmy who gets to go to the local shelter and pick out a dog for his birthday gift. What Jimmy doesn’t know that the dog he picks can speak telepathy to him and it turns out that he’s an immortal born in Egypt 😱 One day they stumble on a Stonehenge in America that matches the one in England.


I loved reading this book to my daughter and the illustrations are amazing and really does bring this book to life! If you have a little one I highly suggest picking up this book!


- Jessica, New York, USA -- @turnxthexpage

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.18.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.46.45 AM.png

Rating: 4.3⭐

✳️ American Stonehenge, written by Mike Goldstein, is a middle-grade fantasy novel, which is the first book in the 'The Adventures of Jimmy & Andrew series'. It's been so long since I read a good adventure novel.✳️

✳️ I really enjoyed reading this book. I was really caught up in the mystery and was dying to know more. Aside from the adventures, this book also instills some moral values ​​in the kids. This book shows the importance of preserving nature and what happens when we destroy it. The way the author explained about hunting animals was really remarkable.✳️

✳️ The author's writing style is outstanding. It is so simple that we can understand it very easily. We can see the whole story before our eyes as if we were watching a movie. I was even intrigued by the way he told the story, it really was engraving. And the illustrations, they were so beautiful.✳️

✳️ Who doesn't like a story with bigfoot, aliens, gremlins and an amazing dog! There are many twists and turns in this book. The book ends on a cliffhanger and I'm really looking forward to the second book in this series. I would highly recommend this book to all children and I am absolutely sure they will love this adventurous read.✳️

- Amin Shaima, Book Reviewer, India -- @sagittarian_bookaholic

Just finishing up our American Stonehenge book and thought we could have some fun colouring in some of the pictures in the book ✏️ We have enjoyed our adventures with jimmy & andrew the dog. How many of us have kids who constantly ask for a dog?? I know Mine do! My Tallulah would be over the moon to have a dog, especially one like Andrew that she could communicate telepathically with!

 

Jimmy is a young boy who is lucky enough to adopt a dog for his birthday, jimmy soon realises it’s not just a dog but an awesome dog that has lived thousands of years & he can read his mind!! Now if that’s not mind blowing... Jimmy’s parents are archaeologists and they all go on a trip to excavate a newly discovered Stonehenge... This story is full of history, adventure & lots of fun learning... great for our home school! I’ve certainly learnt a thing or two.


American Stonehenge is definitely a great piece of literature, perfect for young kids and makes a great living book for homeschoolers. We give this book the 👍 rainbow has enjoyed our read aloud and colouring the photocopied pictures ☺️
And I’m sure we will re read... after the older kids have had chance to read.

- The Manger Family, Home School Family, New Zealand -- @themangershome

Screen Shot 2022-07-20 at 11.15.33 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.45.44 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-20 at 11.13.21 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.45.29 AM.png

What an amazing book! I loved going on this action-packed adventure with Jimmy and his dog, Andrew. This book was a fast-paced, educational read for me with well-developed characters and plots. The illustrations are extremely detailed and beautiful. The illustrations help engage and connect the reader to this wonderful story.

I had so much fun reading this. I loved the bond between Jimmy and Andrew. Even though this book is perfect for middle grade ages, I think some adults would love this as well. Once my two boys are older, I will be introducing them to this wonderful adventure. This is a book to be treasured! Can’t wait to see what book #2 brings!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Krista, Maryland, USA -- @thrillersandcoffee

Screen Shot 2022-07-09 at 1.00.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 2.05.41 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 2.10.53 PM.png

Jimmy has always wanted a dog and on his 9th birthday he gets exactly that. It turns out his dog, Andrew, can communicate with him telepathically - super cool! Andrew can even read minds and when he’s in extreme danger, he can put an illusion into people’s minds.

When Jimmy’s dad who’s an archaeologist gets a report about a new site discovered that looks identical to the Stonehenge, Jimmy and Andrew tag along with him to check it out. They meet “Crazy Pete”, a vet who lives in an isolated part of the forest and he tells them about gremlins that reconstruct machines. He says they’re sort of like guardians of nature and might stop Jimmy’s dad from doing any work in the area.

Jimmy and Andrew go on adventure to find out more about the gremlins. My favourite bit is Jimmy being able to talk to Andrew. I’d love to be able to talk to animals, telepathically or not! The illustrations were also amazing. Plus Jimmy is the same age as me!

J’s verdict: 5 out of 5 book stars ⭐️

What an amazing book! Thank you for sending it over @jimmyandandrew! I can’t wait to read the next one! (That was the only annoying thing - knowing there’s still more to the story and I have to wait!)

- J, 9 year old, Indonesia -- @thebookreviewkid

About the book: Jimmy is a young boy who has always wanted a dog and finally on his birthday, he gets his wish, and welcomes a new friend through the rescue society. Little does he know, that his new dog (Andrew) is actually able to speak telepathically to Jimmy. An immortal dog, you say, how can that be?! And why has he been roaming for 3,000 yrs?! But most importantly what adventures does Andrew take Jimmy on as he unravels mysteries that were just waiting for the duo to discover together 💛⁣

 

Heartwarming, fun, cure, adventure full. My 8.5 yr old was hooked from page one as he related to little Jimmy both in age and wanting a best friend in a canine. Such a special gift to add to his own forever shelf. We both thank the author for the gifted copy in return for an honest review. I didn’t ‘have’ to post but I wanted to. It really was a fun adventure story for younger kids. ⁣

𝘗𝘴. 𝘐 𝘬𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘐 𝘸𝘰𝘶𝘭𝘥 𝘣𝘦 𝘷𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘚𝘵𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘩𝘦𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘰𝘯 𝘮𝘺 𝘰𝘸𝘯 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘜𝘬! 𝘚𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘚𝘵𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘩𝘦𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘮𝘺 𝘤𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘸𝘩𝘰 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘫𝘶𝘮𝘱𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘴 vvvv

- Jenna, United States -- @flowersfavouritefiction

Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.52.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.52.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.53.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.53.57 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a middle-grade illustrated book by Mike Goldstein about a 9 year old kid, Jimmy, and his three thousand year old dog...
It's the first book in a new series, The Adventures of Jimmy and Andrew by Mike Goldstein! 😍

It's a non- stop action story, where the kid and the dog communicate telepathically to solve mysteries! They meet different creatures and people.
• • • • • •
I fell in love with the characters and I really loved to read the book and to solve mysteries with them!
I found myself laughing while reading, the book is enjoyable and fun to read! 😆
It's suitable for young reader and I recommend it to readers who love to read mysteries and solve them!

The ending is beautifully written and I can't wait to read the sequel and to know what will happen with the characters 😍🥰

- Théa, France -- @_anotherbook_

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.44.37 PM.png

I love illustrations in books! 🙌🏻 And I think we need more of them!

I recently read this fantastic middle grade book called American Stonehenge and I have concluded I want a pet that I can speak to telepathically 😂

This is about Jimmy, a boy who turns nine, and as promised by his parents, he gets to finally get a dog! What he finds(or who finds him)is an ancient immortal dog called Andrew who is able to telepathically speak to Jimmy. Jimmy's dad is sent on a work trip to visit a place they are calling the American Stonehenge since it looks an awful lot like the Stonehenge in England. While there, Jimmy learns a lot about Andrew and his past life, and how similar the American Stonehenge is to what Andrew had once seen and experienced once many years ago. Strange occurrences are happening while they are there excavating, which leads to a discovery none of them were expecting, even Andrew.

This was such a cute read. I mean who wouldn't want an immortal dog who is very intelligent AND can speak to you telepathically?! I mean that's like a kid's dream come true. I loved seeing how Andrew and Jimmy's relationship developed, and you can definitely tell Jimmy is nine because of all the questions he had! He certainly also experienced A LOT on this trip for a kid that is nine!

I loved the blend of history, with modern day, and even future in this book. The book also took a very unexpected turn, and I was not expecting it!

And of course there’s some great illustrations throughout the book and I recommend it if you enjoy middle grade books with fantasy. Thank you @jimmyandandrew for sending me a free gifted copy 🥰

- Anais, United States -- @atrailofpages

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.38.20 PM.png

The illustrations are amazing and the story is fun! Jimmy rescues Andrew , a dog from the pound and they set off on an adventure together. The dog is over 3000 years old, immortal, and can talk to Jimmy telepathically.

Check out this book if you’re looking for something to occupy your middle school child or even your Dad.


- Tania Grim, Canada -- @grim_reads

Jimmy got a dog 🐕 on his ninth birthday. It turned out to be no ordinary dog 🐶, it could communicate with Jimmy telepathically and also was three thousand years old!!
He named his 🐶, Andrew.Jimmy's parents told him about their trip to Washington to an excavation site where Stonehenge has been found similar to one in England! Jimmy and Andrew face many adventures and solved mysteries which included ancient Indian treasures, mysterious disappearances along Stonehenge and many more.


🐶Highly recommend this book to anyone who loves solving mysteries.

🐶🐶The bond between telepathic pet and Jimmy was incredible.

🐶🐶🐶Loved the full colored illustrations which looked so real.

- Pari, 7 years old, India -- @parithebookworm

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.32.35 PM.png

#Rating: 5 ⭐

Andrew is not an ordinary dog. He is not only immortal but can also hear people's thoughts. Born during the ancient Egypt almost 5000 yrs ago, Andrew has seen a lot. So in the present, when Jimmy, a nine year old boy adopts Andrew, their journey of thrilling escapades together begin. The moment they set eyes on each other, there is an instant connection.

Jimmy's parents take them along on the exploration of a mysterious Stonehenge sighting similar to that in England. While on the way, they hear stories and together try to discover the mystery of the ancient structure. They meet strange people, decipher symbolic puzzles, protect each other from the unknown danger that only they can sense. Also, Andrew tells him fascinating stories from his past. His birth and various narrow escapes, his different companions over the time and their special bonds, his adventurous journey and the life lessons that make Andrew a wise dog. He teaches Jimmy a lot of things and guides him through his young ways.

The above story seems to be a complete movie but I loved the way the author had articulated his thoughts and made this piece a worth every page.

This book is brilliant. The story is gripping, full of adventure in every chapter, has easy comprehensive language and beautiful illustrations about the on going story. There is never a dull moment in the story that takes us back and forth to the important historical moments which Andrew has "witnessed". I absolutely adored the concept and the authors vision. One of a kind with the potential to be an exciting series for the young readers, this book is a must read for every child who loves excitement and a series of colourful exploits.

- Shweta, Book Reviewer, India -- @mayIreviewyourbook

Thank you to @jimmyandandrew for sending me a copy of your book! I loved it. I am excited for my daughter to read it when she is older, or for when she has the attention span for me to sit and read it to her 😅

I love the mix of realism and sci-fi elements. I am really happy to read the history and stories of the indigenous people of the area. I think this is a great book to teach older children the importance of protecting the Earth. Thank you for letting me read this wonderful adventure! I look forward to reading more of their stories!

- Sarah Anderson-Pagal, Canada -- @bibliomum

Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 12.48.21 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a Middle Grade adventure story starring a rescue dog Andrew and his boy Jimmy. Andrew is no ordinary dog, he is 4,000 yrs old! He and Jimmy are faced with a mystery and join forces to discover the origin of a mysterious stonehenge in a remote forest. The bond between the boy and dog is heartwarming. The author does a great job creating tension and adding humor in the right places. The illustrations are bright and exciting depicting each challenge they face together.

I always love a good story about rescues, Wesley is my first. He was rescued from Puerto Rico and just fills our home with happiness. Sometimes I feel like we are communicating telepathically so this story really triggers my imagination. Thank you to the author for the signed copy!

- Lisa, United States -- @Mrs.lauras.lit

🐾 Book Review 🐾

American Stonehedge by Mike Goldstein is such a wonderful story, full of amazing illustrations that enhanced author's unique and descriptive writing style.

It's Jimmy's birthday and he gets to pick a dog from the shelter, or maybe I should say the dog gets to pick him. The two have a telepathic bond, and we soon discover the dog's name is Andrew. I was happy to be a part of the adventures and to learn more about Andrew and his interesting past. He and Jimmy made a sweet pair. I enjoyed this book, from Egypt to the forest people to Stonehedge and a few surprises I didn't see coming. I think kids will enjoy it too.

- Cherie, United States -- @bookish_cherie

Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 12.44.44 PM.png