Take a look at what our readers from around the world think of
The Adventures of Jimmy and Andrew: American Stonehenge
and read our 5 star reviews!

Press & Praise for American Stonehenge

Awards

Royal Dragonfly 2020 Awards Honorable Mention:

Honorable Mention for categories Animal/Pets, Chapter Books, and Science Fiction/Fantasy.

Purple Dragonfly 2021 Awards Winner:

1st Place for Middle Grade Fiction, 2nd Place for Animals/Pets, Honorable Mention for categories Best Illustration and Chapter Books

Recent Interviews and Events

Jim Masters LIVE

We were live on the Jim Masters Show! Check out the epic interview between Jim and our lovely author, Mike Goldstein here.

The Vegas Voice 

Mike appeared on The Vegas Voice Live on July 15, 2021! It was a great time and you get a lot of insights into the making of Jimmy and Andrew. Listen here

The Rosie and Bill Show

Mike's episode on The Rosie and Bill Show just aired and you can catch the whole thing right here! >>>

Or head to YouTube and subscribe to their channel. 

3 Geeks Podcast

The 3 Geeks spent some time with Mike recently and it was a great time! You can catch the episode below.

Listen right here and let us know what you think!

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook for the latest news! 

Editorial Reviews

 

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 5/5

❄️ If you are searching for a book to buy to read with your children under the Christmas lights on Christmas eve then you should defently buy this one! It is a book about true frienship between a boy and his dog. It also follows their adventures throughout history and the illustrations are amazing. It is such an enjoyable read full of suspense, mystery and history information that will hold your interest till the end.

It was so sweet to read how close friends Jimmy and Andrew were, it really touched my heart as I have a dog and I love the relationship between him and my two year old daughter. I am sure this is her favourite bedtime story, mine too.

🎀This is the perfect Christmas gift for the whole family.

- Elina S., Book Blogger, Mesologgi, Greece -- @elinasbookstagram

Screen Shot 2022-11-30 at 4.08.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-11-30 at 4.00.19 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a cute and fun middle grade adventure novel. It also has very cute illustrain each chapter that help bring the story to life.


Jimmy has always wanted a dog and finally for his 9th birthday he gets to go to the shelter and rescue a pup. He ends up with Andrew, a 3000 yo dog who was not only born in Egypt and lived all over, but can communicate with Jimmy in his mind. They go of to an adventure exploring an ancient site with Jimmy’s parents and making new friends along the way.


I enjoyed the history aspect of the story, as well as its approach to treating nature with care, Vietnam war veterans with PTSD, Native communities, culture and preservation of nature and historical sites.

- Ana Lucía, Mom & Book Reviewer, Puerto Rico -- @alsanchezbooks

I wish I had this book when I was a kid... imagine getting to adopt a dog on your bday, from the humane society! And then imagine having the ability to talk with that dog via telepathy! DREAM COME TRUE!!!!

Andrew (the dog) was an Immortal from Egypt!!! As someone who loves Egypt, I was getting super jealous of Jimmy.

As someone who always wanted to be an archeologist, when I read about Andrew not only got to talk to his dog but also had parents who were archeologists, I was insanely jealous!

Then when it so happened that Jimmy and his dog gets to go on these insane adventures when his parents found The Stonehenge (a duplicate of course) in England... my jealousy was 10 fold!

- Ovi Eks, Digital Creator, South Carolina, USA -- @acourtofspinesnpages

Screen Shot 2022-11-17 at 11.35.53 AM.png

🌼OMG!! What a thrilling and exciting book it is, I read it in just three days! Filled with extra ordinary, beautiful and colourful illustrations this book tells us a tale like no other. This book was my companion on my trip and I felt like I myself was the part of the story.

Everything in it is brought out so well, the language, the plot and the characters are shaped so beautifully that I could visualize everything while I was reading it. It’s like a light and fun read, something that’s easy breezy and yet so much fun to indulge into.

Dive in the greatest adventure that’s gonna fill your life with so many good values and life lessons. I absolutely loves the themes of the story especially friendship! I truly loved it and I will highly recommend it.

Rating: 4.5⭐️

- Rutuja Ramteke, Book Reviewer, India -- @rutuja_ramteke_

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ This is a pretty awesome book and the first in the Jimmy and Andrew adventure series. Jimmy is a young lad who has always wanted a dog, and so, for his ninth birthday, his Dad takes him to the rescue centre and Jimmy chooses Andrew - or rather Andrew, chooses Jimmy!

Written as a children’s book, this will easily entertain and educate adults, too. I certainly didn’t know about some things Goldstein writes about, in particular, the Egyptian history he explains in great detail, through Andrew (yes, the dog)! As we travel on Jimmy’s adventures, if there are words or situations that he doesn’t understand, these are explained to him and consequently, any kids reading the book will learn lots of new stuff too.

I googled American Stonehenge, and it really exists, although in New Hampshire, not Washington State. Something else that I wasn’t aware of but loved reading about.

Think Enid Blyton’s Famous Five, meets Harry Potter with some aliens thrown in and you’ll have a good idea of what you’ll be getting with American Stonehenge. Immerse yourself in Jimmy and Andrew’s world and enjoy the journey. I’m looking forward to the next adventure for them both.

- Samantha, Book Blogger, Warwickshire, UK -- @sams_fireside

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 12.31.56 PM.png

🐶 Rating: 4 ⭐️ 🐶 Thoughts:
I don't usually read middle grade books, so this one piqued my interest, especially since one of the main characters is a dog 🐶. The story began when Jimmy, a 9-year-old boy, went to a humane center to adopt a dog for his birthday. There he met his new pet/best friend Andrew (the dog), who possesses the ability to read both human and dog minds. Surprisingly, Jimmy can hear Andrew's thoughts as well! That's how they began telepathically communicating with one another. The story was very interesting, especially when their adventure began. Jimmy's family went on a trip where his parents, who were both archaeologists, had to inspect a stone structure known as Stonehenge. I'm not a big fan of history, but this book contains some fascinating facts about Egyptian history. The plot was very unique, and I also enjoyed looking at the illustrations! And it was fascinating to learn more about Andrew and his previous lives. The book also has some interesting side characters, particularly Pete, who seemed suspicious at first. However, I felt like the pacing of the book was a little slow; it dragged for me, especially the parts where all they do is talk to each other. Overall, it was an exciting, fun, and light read with a touch of fantasy that was definitely worth a try, especially for young readers. It also ended well, giving some hints about the next installment.

- Rhea, Book Blogger, Philippines -- @rheareads_

This was such a fun and unique story. I think this could definitely be a staple in middle grade classrooms across the US.


The plot was fun - one could also say crazy at times. It’s super engaging all throughout the book and is such a good blend of history and fantasy. The book is so successful at educating the reader while still being entertaining and fun. I really enjoyed the illustrations as well.

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Sophie, Book Reviewer, Denmark -- @fictiondaydreams

Screen Shot 2022-11-09 at 12.28.04 PM.png
  • A delightful children's book that would be an adventure into the depths of the author's creativity, most suitable for readers in all countries of all ages.

  •  The author surpassed my expectations with the rich tapestry of words that showed me the world of Jimmy and Andrew.

  • There was something so endearing about the characters that the story invited me to immerse myself in their lives and go on this trip.

  • Their communication and bonding with each other brought out the meaning of true friendship that rested in their hearts.

  • It was not often that I came across a book that would amalgamate history and fantasy well together in a children's book, along with science-fiction. Yes, yes, there were aliens too.

  • The subplots were woven tight together in such a manner that it felt I was traveling with them to investigate the mysteries that were written in.

  • Did I mention the book is part graphic? Yes, it is a semi-illustrated novel of 277 pages. That meant I got to visualize the precise scenes and read about them as they happened since the beautifully detailed pictures brought the story to life in my mind. That was another adventure waiting to happen.

  • I was not too fond of the hunting scenes, only because I wouldn't know how children would perceive the concept or if those scenes had to be airbrushed by their parents.

  • I was happy that I got to spend time with Jimmy and Andrew as they were two characters worthy of my attention. I liked how a children's book made me forget my world for a few hours and prickled my curiosity to know more about theirs. 

  •  The book was detailed with wonderful, clear graphics, where the voices of the main characters along with their actions stood strong.

- Shalini, Book Reviewer, India -- @digitalreadsmedia

Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 1.07.48 PM.png
Copy of Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 1.07.25 PM.png


Author Goldstein’s characters are well-developed, with positive values, responsibility, and curiosity. Historical subjects are mostly well researched, with footnoted updates. His plot is action-packed, moving from King Tut’s days to current times. Richly colored illustrations lend an almost graphic novel feel to the book.

Middle grade readers will learn about adventuring, King Tut, homelessness, Vietnam vets, PTSD, hunting for/preserving meat, Native American beliefs, witch trials, Bigfoot, technology vs ecology, and more. In fact, there are too many focus shifts for just one book! It could easily have been two books, split before Jimmy and friends learn the gremlins’ origins.

While most historical references seem accurate, the Iron Age Britain illustration includes two women dressed like B-movie stars (with modern bras), and two men in plaid pants. The Iron Age was 750BC-AD43, before women wore modern bras. Plaid wasn’t invented until the 1700s.

This is a good read-alone book for middle graders with average to long attention spans. Or a read-along book for those with shorter attention spans, with a chapter or two read/discussed at a time. It’s a refreshing alternative to many middle grade books, and it’s 4 stars from me. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Linda Kimura, Book Blogger, Arizona, USA -- @arizonabookstagrammer

Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 12.57.25 PM.png

✨This is such a fun MG adventure, y’all. I loved the dual storylines-learning about Andrew‘s history and how his very long, immortal life intersects with Jimmy’s. The mystery that the pair uncovers was exciting, engaging, and creative. All in all, this book would make an amazing family read aloud, or a perfect read for a cup of tea and a relaxing afternoon. It was such a good time.

✨Read if:

  • You love historical mysteries, archaeology

  • Illustrated books, full color-beautiful illustrations

  • MG adventures

  • Immortal companions, magical realism, incredible friendships, and exciting adventures

✨This was an amazing MG read, a great story, and I definitely recommend it, y’all!!

- Lou B., Book Reviewer, Texas, USA -- @louturnspages

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5

This was a fantastic story with a fun blend of fantasy and history. The more whimsical elements such as Andrew, the dog, being able to read both canine and human thoughts helped round out the historical parts throughout the book. I loved the concept of learning history through the dogs eyes. This adventure is full of practical life lessons and surprising twists. The beautiful artwork sprinkled throughout the book also helped bring the story to life. This is a great book with a timeless story perfect for all ages!

- Aly L., Book Reviewer, Michigan, USA -- @bookish_aly_cat

Screen Shot 2022-10-31 at 11.56.08 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-31 at 11.52.13 AM.png

In this lovely adventure story, Mike Goldstein skillfully expressed his originality. The plot’s ingenuity is astounding. It features distinctive characters, including aliens. The graphics are incredibly well done. The minute elements have been carefully considered. The narrative is captivating, packed with action in each chapter, and features clear, thorough language and lovely images that beautifully depict the unfolding event. A psychic dog and young child duo with a thirst for adventure, a captivating and engaging tale, beautiful pictures, and the ideal blending of history and fantasy. Everyone should read it since it’s a beautiful book, and I’m sure they’ll all find it as charming as I did.
🌼🌼
Beautiful pictures decorate the book. The segment showing the methods used to create the illustrations, “behind the scenes,” was fantastic. This novel has everything for everyone, including new friendships, teamwork, science fiction, history, fantasy, action, adventure, and discovery. An original plot that would appeal to many middle schoolers. Interesting idea with the canine. Interesting idea with the canine. It’s a light, enjoyable book that’s also very educational. Since it is to deserving of being a series, I hope there will be a second book! I would recommend this book because it was an overall entertaining adventure novel with some interesting characters!
🌼🌼 Rating of the book- 5⭐/5⭐

- Trishita Das, Book Reviewer, Kolkata, India -- @book_withquotes

Its taken until now to review as it’s been passed around all the children in my life (who loved it).

This book isn’t just a book of friendship with Jimmy and Andrew but also partnership as they embark on their adventure together. I found this book very educational and taught me as a 40yr old a lot of history. It was such an enjoyable book and the illustrations are phenomenal. Highly recommend especially to young readers

- Lianne, Book Blogger, Ontario, Canada -- @lianne_the_bibliphile

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.33.39 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.30.42 PM.png

I love that American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein takes place in the forests of Northern Washington.
Alyssa and I love hiking and we spend quite a bit of time in forests of Washington!

This is a wonderfully illustrated edition about Jimmy and Andrew and their adventures!

American Stonehenge is a great read for middle schoolers, but I think all ages can enjoy this book!


- Casey & Alyssa, Book Reviewers, Washington, USA -- @welikebigbooksandwecannotlie

I haven’t read a story like this before, ever. It’s mysterious and intriguing while taking some historical aspects and making them into fantasy with such a different turn.

It was interesting and peculiar how the main character Jimmy was able to communicate telepathically with Andrew, the dog he just adopted. Every chapter was a new surprise!

It’s a middle grade book with such creative illustrations! A story full of mystery, friendship, archeology and magical adventures. The relationship between the characters is so honest and sweet that you’ll wish to be part of it.

- Regina "Rex", Artist/Writer, Mexico -- @my.book.nooks

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.24.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.19.32 PM.png

Jimmy wants a dog so bad that his parents take him to the dog shelter on his ninth birthday to pick one. That's when he realises that there's a dog who can speak to him through thought and decides to take it. When they get home his new dog, already named Andrew, tells him his extraordinary story. He's 3.300 years old and can hear humans' thoughts. Not many people or animals can hear him back though and that can be pretty lonely. He doesn't know why he is like that and is still looking for answers.


When Jimmy's father takes his family to the new secret excavation at an extraordinary site, a great adventure begins where along with Pete, a Vietnam veteran, they will uncover some great mysteries of human history.

The book is very sweet and very nicely illustrated by Anil Baydir, a Turkish artist. I loved how the author respectfully portrays native Americans, their relationship with the environment and way of life.

I loved it and can wait to read book 2 of the series.

- Sofia, Translator, Athens, Greece -- @silverchildsbooks

This book was gifted to me by the author in exchange for an honest review and this book is so cute, and fun! For a kids book there was plenty of adult situations that I feel like the author handled wonderfully making it relatable and maybe seeing Jimmy go thru hardships can help kids understand it better! Also it was fun to see the little twists in stories on real structures and events! Also this book is stunning! The artwork is phenomenal and it really added to the story! I give American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Jahara, Book Reviewer, Colorado, USA -- @jarjarbindings

Screen Shot 2022-10-21 at 1.12.49 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.12.38 PM.png

American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein is a middle-grade novel with stunning illustrations.
Jimmy, a nine-year-old, has always wanted a dog. 

Mike Goldstein is a master storyteller and this book was an absolute delight to read.  The colorful illustrations with intricate detailing made this a great reading experience. It has everything to keep you hooked to it - found friendship, fantasy, science, archeology, and European and Egyptian history with a heavy dose of action and adventure. It reminded me of the adventure books I used to read in childhood.


- Aneela, Book Blogger, Pakistan -- @the_mystique_reader

This is an enchanting read that transports the reader on a magical adventure. As a dog lover, i myself have always pondered what my dog was thinking, what their interests are, etc. The relationship between Jimmy and Andrew is probably one we’ve all wished we had with our pet, and i really loved how the author blended together fantasy and history. The illustrations throughout the book just add to the overall experience.

- Ashley, Book Blogger, Deleware, USA -- @slowerlowerliving

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.37.59 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.23.37 PM.png

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
.
📚This was a cute, enjoyable and unique read. This story talks about Jimmy and the adventure he goes on with his talking dog Andrew! All of the characters were really interesting and had their own unique personality! This story also had a really unique plot that takes you on an unexpected direction!


📚I really enjoyed the adventure that the author took us on and you can really tell he has an eye for history. The author bases his story on the history of the different parts of the world. The world building in this story was amazing and the author did a really good job at making you feel apart of the story!


📚There was a lot of conversation during a few chapters of the book and it did slow the plot down a bit but once you get past that it’s really enjoyable. There were quite a few twists and turns in the story, that I had to go back a few times to fully understand what was going on


📚Overall, this was a fun, adventure story

- Bianca, Book Reviewer, Melbourne, Australia -- @exclusively_bookish

I haven't read a middle grade book in a long time, and I was really surprised with American Stonehenge. I enjoyed it and I found the plot quite interesting and even a little crazy. The plot development is intriguing, and the pictures are eye-catching, it captures your attention from the first page.

I think that if I read this to my niece, she will love it because, as I mentioned before, it is a book with a lot of fantastic and jaw-dropping things. This book has monsters and aliens!!

Moreover, the rhythm of the plot is good, I didn't get bored in any moment and the characters are entertaining, and they stole my heart. American Stonehenge was a read out of my comfort zone, with an interesting premise and endearing characters. 📖: ★★★★

- Arianna, Book Blogger, Lima, Perú -- @ariathebookaholic

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.17.46 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.12.38 PM.png

As a connoisseur, if you will, of middle grade books (former middle school teacher right here!), I know what it takes to write a book that will hook a middle schooler. This book did just that! Jimmy and Andrew are the perfect duo, and haven’t we all wished we could communicate telepathically with our dog at some point? This book was fast moving, filled to the brim with history, art, science, etc, and overall a fast paced action novel that kept me turning pages. I absolutely loved the characters, and would absolutely share this book with my students!


- Anna, English Teacher, California, USA -- @bound.to.reading

I love this book for so many reasons! The story starts in my hometown, San Diego where Jimmy is promised that he can adopt a dog for his 9th birthday. When the day finally arrives, they go to the Humane Society. His dad advices Jimmy to let the dog choose him, and that's exactly what happens. It turns out that his dog Andrew is over 3,000 years old, and can communicate telepathically. The duo sets off on an adventure with his archeologist


Dad and his Mom to study a newly discovered set of ruins resembling Stonehenge in Washington State. As the story unfolds we learn more about Andrew's past lives. There are many mysteries to unravel, and we are introduced to a cast of intriguing characters.

The beautifully detailed illustrations by Anil Baydir @anilduyal through out the book help you visualize key scenes. Middle Grade readers will enjoy this book because of its blend of mystery, history and adventure. It also would be a great book for parents and children to read together. As an avid dog lover and supporter of rescue organizations, I really appreciate that the fictional Andrew was adopted from the @sdhumanesociety 🐕

- R. Bandy, Mom/Book Fairy, California, USA -- @lflbookadventures

Screen Shot 2022-10-11 at 7.04.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-10-03 at 3.19.33 PM.png

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


A stunning historical fantasy novel for children accompanied by exquisite illustrations. Jimmy has always wanted a dog and on his birthday, he is allowed to visit an adoption shelter. As he walks along the cages, he hears a voice asking to be rescued! He can communicate with a dog! Andrew the dog is adopted and so begins the deep bond and adventures of this incredible duo.

 

The book takes us on some incredible historical journeys: Egypt; Iron Age Britain; American Stonehenge... It is exciting and new and promises to be the first of many more adventures. The full colour copy makes beautiful read. It is a book full of adventure and spirit.

- Karla B.M., Book Reviewer, Northern Ireland -- @karla_bookishlife

These two companions go with Jimmy’s dad a site that looks to be an American replica of Stonehenge and from there, the adventures are limitless.

This is definitely a book for all ages! My son had a great time reading passages of this novel with me and loved the beautiful illustrations. Andrew, the dog, has such a cool backstory and we get to see history through ages from his experience. This book manages to be light and fun while still educating the reader and will be great to introduce children to different historical events and times. The illustrations are meticulously detailed and engaging.

- Cassidee L., Mom/Blogger, Michigan, USA -- @cassidee.omnilegent

Screen Shot 2022-09-29 at 2.07.19 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.57.34 PM.png

A truly fun and exciting adventure book for ages young and old. Though this is considered Middle Grade, I am not of middle grade age and still loved it!

Jimmy has wanted a dog his entire young life. On his 9th birthday he goes to the shelter to find a dog to adopt. Andrew is over 3,000 years old but you wouldn’t know it by his doggy body. When Jimmy realizes he can head Andrew via telepathy Jimmy knows he has found his dog. From this point on the adventure begin as art meets history meets adventure. While traveling through history not does the reader get to experience the adventure with them, but they also learn quite a bit along the way.

The format of this book reminds me of adventure books I grew up reading and the illustrations help bring the page alive.

- Kelly K., Mom, Florida, USA -- @spaceonthebookcase

Jimmy gets the chance to adopt a dog from a shelter for his birthday, something that he always wanted. No sooner than later he finds out that he and the dog Andrew can communicate telepathically!! Wholesome, right?

That's not it. It turns out that the dog is immortal and born in Egypt three thousand years ago. The duo takes on their first adventure in the remote forests of northern Washington, where Jimmy's archaeologist parents excavate a replica of Stonehenge from England, in America, therefore the book's title!

With lots of mysteries to unfold, about this American Stonehenge and Andrew's origins, this perfectly organised book takes on the readers for an adventure of a lifetime.

Everything about the book is brilliant. Engaging and intriguing storyline, marvellous illustrations, perfect blend of history and fantasy, a telepathic dog and kid combo with an urge for adventure. It's a wonderful book that's totally worth reading by people of all ages, and I'm sure everyone will find it lovely as much as I did.

Perfect for the young and the old, this book is packed with action, adventure, history, fantasy, the connection and the friendship of the protagonists, fast paced and I loved the behind the scenes- element in the book that tells about the process of creating these marvellous illustrations right from the scratch. It's the author's first book and the first in this series, I'm excited to see what comes next! I only wonder why I didn't read this one earlier. I'm falling in love with middle-grade fantasy fiction!

🌟5/5

- Harsh Tyagi, Book Reviewer, India -- @readsandmusic

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.57.34 PM.png

 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​
American Stonehenge is a fun, light and fantastical middle grade novel, with beautiful and surprising images. This is a book your kids will want to read over and over again. It tells a story about a boy named Jimmy and his friend, Andrew who is just over 3,000 years old! Andrew is interesting for many reasons, but one of the best is that he can communicate telepathically with both people and dogs. Plus he takes Jimmy on adventures. This is a book that explores history and the arts, using elements of fantasy, science fiction and adventure. The friendship is well-developed, and the characters are likable.​​​​​​​​
​​​​​​​​
And, as a bonus, it made me love my sweet rescue dogs even more than I already did!​​​​​​​​

- Kelly Hunsaker, Ex-Lawyer, Colorado, USA -- @kelly_hunsaker_reads

A boy and his dog are always adventure pals but imagine what would happen if they could talk to each other telepathically! This story is fun, educational and the book has beautiful illustrations throughout.

American Stonehenge is a great middle grade read.

Thank you @jimmyandandrew for this gifted copy. I can’t wait to read it with my nieces and nephews when they are old enough!

- Emma Groves, Cat Mom, Oregon, USA -- @emmareadsoutside

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.52.23 PM.png

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

American Stonehenge is a truly fascinating and unique adventure story coupled with stunning illustrations from start to finish.


Jimmy has longed for a dog all hid life and on his ninth birthday he gets his wish! He goes to the local humane society to choose his dog (or rather his dog choose him as his dad advises). When walking through the Kennels he hears a voice speaking to him but no one is around. He soon realises it a dog speaking to him telepathically. Jimmy just knows this is the dog he must choose and that's chosen him. This part of the story reminded me of Lilo and Stitch which is a film I adore. And this is where Jimmy and Andrews (the dog) story and adventures take off. Jimmy and Andrew are such an adorable and amazing team and I loved both characters so much. We meet a host of different characters and go to many different places and I couldn't put this book down. There's something for everyone in this book - found friendship, teamwork, sci-fi, science, history, fantasy, action, adventure, discovery and art. I really hope there will be a second book as it is so worthy of being a series!


- Natalie H., Book Reviewer, Lancashire, UK -- @all_books_great_and_small

Screen Shot 2022-09-13 at 4.41.07 PM.png

📜 Jimmy’s dog Andrew can talk to him telepathically. He’s immortal, born in Egypt more than three thousand years ago. 😱 On an adventure together they learn about Andrew’s origin as well as so much more along the way. 📜

This book is just absolutely stunning and so fun. The illustrations are beyond gorgeous. It’s definitely a read together or read aloud kind of book that may take a few nights or a week but that’s part of the charm here for sure. Full of adventure and interesting facts, I can’t wait to see what’s next for Jimmy and Andrew.


I’m just in LOVE with this book. ♥️

- Beth S., Mom & Book Reviewer, Florida, USA -- @ladybug_shirls

What a fun adventure book! And what a treat that the book is illustrated. I found my inner middle school self ecstatic over such a unique story filled with historical fiction, mysterious forest people, and a talking immortal dog from Egypt! The main characters are a 9 year old boy and his telepathically “talking” dog, which made for a fun perspective. I found myself reading non stop. Instantly upon finishing , I was excited about their next adventure, which the book ending teases you with. I can’t wait to read more!

I would recommend this for young readers or YA adventure readers who love dogs!

My only negative comment would be that the narrative between characters seemed very formal and did not flow as well as I would have liked.

Thanks to @jimmyandandrew for sending me this book in exchange for my honest opinion and review. I accepted because I knew it was right up my alley, and I’m so glad I did!

Of course I also had to take the opportunity to include my puppy in the pic since Jimmy wouldn’t have had it any other way!

- Elizabeth Sultan, Reader & Blogger, California, USA -- @thedrunktravelingbookworm

Screen Shot 2022-08-30 at 11.31.43 AM.png
Chapter27-Final-caption copy.jpg
Screen Shot 2022-08-30 at 11.27.43 AM.png

Rating 5 ⭐
 

A dog who is three thousand and three hundred years old, a mysterious stone structure just like a stone henge, archaeological department discover it in America's Jungle, this is enough to make me glued to this book.

Jimmy, a nine years old boy wishes to get a pet dog. On his birthday he went with his father to get a dog and meet Andrew, a very special dog. Soon after that night, Jimmy's father told him that their archeological team discovered a stone henge in the heart of a jungle. And the jungle also has some unknown mysteries inside it. Jimmy and his family with the dog Andrew, went off to the jungle on an adventurous journey.

I am a sucker for adventure movies and books, and this is The best adventure book ever! Though it's a middle-grade book anyone would enjoy this. The author touched on some historical facts in this book. European and Egyptian history is the most fascinating part of this journey. It has a fantastic atmospheric narrative. I have enjoyed reading this so much.

With beautiful illustrations, this book gives me full enjoyment. Can't afford to miss this book, guys.

- Mili Das, Book Reviewer, Kolkata, India -- @theladylivesinbook

This story is filled with imagination, forest people, an American Stonehenge, a priest clan and an ancient dog! I loved Jimmy and the dog's relationship the most, their bond is so precious.

 

There are elements of discovery, history and art within the book that I so loved!

This is the first book in a middle grade series. The writing style is enchanting and effortless and the beautiful illustrations captivated me.If you love a middle grade book filled with history, adventure and solving a mystery then definitely read this. It's a beautiful book and I would like to say a huge thank you to Mike for sending his gorgeous book out to me.


I loved learning about Mike how he got into writing at the start of the book which was so fascinating 🍁

- Ruby Sloane, Book Reviewer, United Kingdom -- @@xrubyreadsx

Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 5.06.03 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 5.02.40 PM.png

American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein can best be described as an upper middle grade mystery with science fiction and fantasy elements. When Jimmy adopts a dog, Andrew, from the local animal shelter, he quickly discovers that Andrew is not only telepathic, but immortal. Together, the two accompany Jimmy’s archaeologist parents to the remote forests of northern Washington, where a fully intact duplicate of England’s Stonehenge has been discovered. Could this American Stonehenge hold the secret to Andrew’s past? 

The first in a series, this book is based on stories that the author used to tell his grandson at bedtime – which is just too sweet for words. There is a lot of Egyptian history and mythology woven in and, since I happened to be reading this while also watching Moon Knight, that element of the story really came to life for me.  In addition to an interest in ancient Egypt, kids who like dogs, mysteries, and aliens might enjoy this unique and expansive tale. The physical book itself is very high quality – much bigger than a typical book, with thick, glossy pages and full color illustrations.

- Christy, Family of Readers, California, USA -- @wereadlikethat

I took one look and was sold.

Standing Stones. Check. Animal Companions. Check. Middle Grades appropriate. Check.

There is so much about this story that grips the reader from the start but the illustrations give it an extra umph and I couldn’t put it down.

It is definitely a book I can put into the hands of middle school students that love mystical adventure and history.


- Stephanie, mom & book blogger, North Carolina, USA -- @books_and_cozyblankets

Screen Shot 2022-08-20 at 4.53.42 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-15 at 1.15.39 PM.png

When I received the book in my post I was amazed! The illustrations of the book itself are so beautiful and the format itself is ideal for the young audience. I recommend this book for middle school students although I won’t deny this to adults since it is a very relaxing and easy read. It is the first book from a set of series that I can’t wait to read and collect. This review here is my honest opinion.

I highly recommend this book especially to our younger audience. Probably from age 9 onwards. As I said before the illustrations are something out of this world. Every chapter has a page dedicated to an illustration. The language of the book is quite easy to read and the description of the characters and locations are so detailed that one could easily imagine them. There are various valuable themes including sincere friendships, communication, history and also life in general. This book is a solid 4 stars for me.

- Kimberly, Book Reviewer, Malta -- @onceuponamaltesereader

American Stonehenge told a story about Jimmy and his (not so) new buddy, Andrew, whom turned out to be over 3000-years-old and could also read both canine and human thoughts. I mean, they could really communicate telepathically. How wonderful is that!? Together, they went on many adventures to discover clues to the special dog's mysterious origins.

 

Accompanied with wonderfully detailed and fascinating colored illustrations, this book is such a page turner! It’s like history meets arts, fantasy, and science fiction then creates an incredible adventure and fast-paced action. Fantastic! The friendship between Jimmy and Andrew are very adorable, they really hit it off. All the characters are also very well-developed.

It’s a fun, light, entertaining, yet highly educational reads. Not to mention has successfully made me desperately wanting have a dog more than ever! 🐶

- Grace, Book Reviewer, Indonesia -- @graceinbooks

Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 3.09.33 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 3.00.57 PM.png

We absolutely loved this book, the pictures were amazing, the attention to detail & so much history. My kids as well as my husband and I learned so much about history we didn’t know.

Quinn - I loved the part where Andrew told the story about the child king in Egypt.

Harris - I loved that Jimmy & Andrew could talk to each other. Also all the stories Andrew told Jimmy. And the pictures were awesome!!!

This book is a great read for anyone, children & adults. It was a 5⭐️read for us & as a family we highly recommend this book!

- Autumn, Quinn & Harris, Family, Canada -- @aj_books5

4.5⭐

 

Let me start by saying that this story is like none other that I hv previously seen or read. 

I read this one to my 7yr old daughter and she got super excited listening to a story from dogs POV. As their adventure begins we see elements of history, art to some extent even science fiction and fantasy making it a wholesome and a fascinating reading experience. The illustrations are wonderful, bright and colourful apt for children to visualise the story.


The characters are the best part of the book , the writing is effortless that one gets easily immersed in the adventure and we can't help but wait to go in more such adventures with them in the future. In my opinion this book would be highly suitable to slightly older children 10+ and every dog lover no matter the age!!

- Nitisha, Mom & Blogger, India -- @our_readingjourney

Screen Shot 2022-08-09 at 2.54.36 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 2.49.29 PM.png

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


From the very first sentence we was hooked. The story flowed throughout and just became so intriguing, me and my children couldn't put this book down, we needed to know what happened next, the story kept revealing more and more!
Jimmy so desperately wants a dog, and on his 9th birthday his dad takes him to a dog home, where he was the told to let dog choose him. The dog that chose him, is in fact immortal and he can read human thoughts and Jimmy can communicate with Andrew, the dog telepathically. They embark on such an epic adventure that when they think they've heard it all they see something out of this world! We love the characters they're all easy to like and we enjoyed learning about Andrew's past and the history. The illustrations really brought this to life, it was beautiful to see the love between Jimmy and Andrew. The tricky words in the book were explained, which taught my children new descriptive words. The context in this story can teach young readers, to think about reducing waste, hunting for food for the right reasons and people's behavior, it's very inspirational. I cannot wait for the next book- can you tell!!!

- Melina R., Mom & Book Reviewer, London, UK -- @mumwithabook

My thoughts…


Captivating. Goldstein was a great storyteller. The story, at times, brought me back to my childhood. The book was filled with adventure, hope and resilience. Even though there were stories of hardship and despair, they were relatable and child friendly. The action and fast-paced story was balanced by great descriptions and reflections. And, of course, I just loved the story of the boy and his dog 🐾💙 I was captivated by this story and the beautiful illustrations. If you’re looking for an inspirational children’s book, and a book that even adults could get lost in, this might be the book for you!


- Annie, dog & book blogger, Manitoba, Canada -- @pawsandpagesbyannie

Screen Shot 2022-08-03 at 1.29.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 3.13.35 PM.png

The adventures of Jimmy and Andrew: American Stonehenge by author Mike Goldstein @jimmyandandrew is a wonderful middle grade story where Jimmy finnaly gets a dog for his Nineth birthday and realizes that he can communicate telepathically with his new friend, who is not only very smart, but also very old !
.
I enjoyed this one a lot! I loved the friendship between Jimmy and Andrew and all the characters were very well presented. Besides teaching some history, I liked the fact that doesn't shy away from talking about difficult topics, and also taking the time to explain certain words and phases that the kids reading might have trouble understanding. The story itself was super interesting, and not at all what I was expecting, but in the best of ways, will definitely be reading the next book. Totally recommend it!

- Carol Avilés, Blogger, Puerto Varas, Chile -- @chilean_reader

I really appreciate the creativity & effort gone into it that teach about important periods of history. It's an exciting & fun concept!

I especially enjoyed the ancient Egyptian sections, and the aliens were particularly humorous!! The full page colour illustrations added something extra to the experience & teaches values/new vocabulary that would appeal to my students!! I don't know what it is but young kids seem to be captivated by anything morbid or dark so even witch trials & scary monsters, it would be right up their alley 😂😂 I don't often read middle grades but I was impressed- very good job!!

Good luck with the rest of the series & can't wait to see what you come up with next! ✨

- Kate, English Teacher & Author, London, UK -- @kate_talks_about_books

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 3.07.14 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.58.34 PM.png

💛  Typically, I don’t have the opportunity to read many children’s book as I’m the baby of my family at 34. When the opportunity arose for me to read and review American Stonehenge, I was initially a bit skeptical. What do I know about writing for kids? Not much. As I did a bit of research into this book, I noticed the main character lives in San Diego, my hometown. He adopted his dog from the humane society. His dog is 4,000 years old and communicate telepathically. He and said dog go with his archeologist parents to study a newly discovered (and possibly enchanted) set of ruins resembling Stonehenge here in the states! All of those little things added up to a story I couldn’t resist!

💛  I am so glad I stepped out of my adult reading for this book because it was so much fun! Jimmy and his pup Andrew were a joy to read about and the twists in the story kept it engaging. I also really loved the discussion of being good stewards toward nature. As an avid outdoors person, that is a super important message to me. Plus, the book is full of beautiful artwork to help you visualize key scenes. It was just the right mix of sweet, mysterious, and adventurous! I think it would be great for middle grade readers, but is absolutely enjoyable across many age groups. I can specifically imagine this being a family favorite for parents and kids to read together at bedtime.

💙  Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Kaitlin, Book Reviewer, Nevada, USA -- @bandysbooks

🪨 Highly recommended book 🪨

American Stonehenge is one of the most original, entertaining and educational middle grade book I've ever read.

The story introduces a set of amazing characters, but in my opinion Andrew absolutely steals the spotlight. We meet Jimmy and all he wants for his birthday is to own a dog. He gets his wish and goes into the humane society with his father and is meet by Andrew. Jimmy is in awe when he notices that Andrew can communicate with him through telepathy, but there's just one thing, Andrew is a dog.

From this moment on, Andrew tells Jimmy his life long story, from his vivid moments as a pup, to his time living in Egypt and even having survived the infamous witch trials. We immediately find out that Andrew is immortal and has lived for thousands of years.

Jimmy's parents are archeologists and they have a once in a lifetime opportunity to research what is probably the most important discovery in recent decades. An exact replica of Stonehenge is unearthed in Washington and Andrew is convinced this is an important part to discovering why he has his powers. The author did such a phenomenal job at researching and creating such memorable characters. Andrew's story was incredible to read, and his friendship with Jimmy is so genuine that you will absolutely fall in love with their dynamic.

👉I am super excited to see what the sequel will bring for our amazing duo!


- Cristy, Blogger, Florida, USA -- @quinnbook

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.30.03 PM.png

The first of their numerous adventures starts when Jimmy rescues Andrew from the pound. Jimmy and Andrew travel with their parents, who are archaeologists, on an excavation of a recently found site in the distant woodlands of northern Washington. The discovery, which is a perfectly preserved replica of Stonehenge in England, is shrouded in mystery, which Jimmy and Andrew must solve. What led to the formation of this Stonehenge? Why do so many odd things keep happening in its vicinity? What has this psychic canine been doing for the past 3,000 years? The answers to these questions and more are awaiting you in Jimmy and Andrew's first grand adventure!

Mike Goldstein has articulated his creativity in a craftful way in this beautiful adventurous story. The characters are lovable. They are going to stay with readers for a long time. The language is easy and conversational. The style of narration is gripping that keeps one hooked till the end. I enjoyed the idea of experiencing history through a dog's eyes. The book has beautiful illustrations. I loved the "behind the scenes" section that demonstrates the techniques of the illustrations. I am looking forward to the sequel. I highly recommend this book.

- Juhi Bandyopadhyay, Book Reviewer, India -- @_book_island_

it’s a book about a child named Jimmy who gets to go to the local shelter and pick out a dog for his birthday gift. What Jimmy doesn’t know that the dog he picks can speak telepathy to him and it turns out that he’s an immortal born in Egypt 😱 One day they stumble on a Stonehenge in America that matches the one in England.


I loved reading this book to my daughter and the illustrations are amazing and really does bring this book to life! If you have a little one I highly suggest picking up this book!


- Jessica, New York, USA -- @turnxthexpage

Screen Shot 2022-07-29 at 2.18.32 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.46.45 AM.png

Rating: 4.3⭐

✳️ American Stonehenge, written by Mike Goldstein, is a middle-grade fantasy novel, which is the first book in the 'The Adventures of Jimmy & Andrew series'. It's been so long since I read a good adventure novel.✳️

✳️ I really enjoyed reading this book. I was really caught up in the mystery and was dying to know more. Aside from the adventures, this book also instills some moral values ​​in the kids. This book shows the importance of preserving nature and what happens when we destroy it. The way the author explained about hunting animals was really remarkable.✳️

✳️ The author's writing style is outstanding. It is so simple that we can understand it very easily. We can see the whole story before our eyes as if we were watching a movie. I was even intrigued by the way he told the story, it really was engraving. And the illustrations, they were so beautiful.✳️

✳️ Who doesn't like a story with bigfoot, aliens, gremlins and an amazing dog! There are many twists and turns in this book. The book ends on a cliffhanger and I'm really looking forward to the second book in this series. I would highly recommend this book to all children and I am absolutely sure they will love this adventurous read.✳️

- Amin Shaima, Book Reviewer, India -- @sagittarian_bookaholic

Just finishing up our American Stonehenge book and thought we could have some fun colouring in some of the pictures in the book ✏️ We have enjoyed our adventures with jimmy & andrew the dog. How many of us have kids who constantly ask for a dog?? I know Mine do! My Tallulah would be over the moon to have a dog, especially one like Andrew that she could communicate telepathically with!

 

Jimmy is a young boy who is lucky enough to adopt a dog for his birthday, jimmy soon realises it’s not just a dog but an awesome dog that has lived thousands of years & he can read his mind!! Now if that’s not mind blowing... Jimmy’s parents are archaeologists and they all go on a trip to excavate a newly discovered Stonehenge... This story is full of history, adventure & lots of fun learning... great for our home school! I’ve certainly learnt a thing or two.


American Stonehenge is definitely a great piece of literature, perfect for young kids and makes a great living book for homeschoolers. We give this book the 👍 rainbow has enjoyed our read aloud and colouring the photocopied pictures ☺️
And I’m sure we will re read... after the older kids have had chance to read.

- The Manger Family, Home School Family, New Zealand -- @themangershome

Screen Shot 2022-07-20 at 11.15.33 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.45.44 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-20 at 11.13.21 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-07-19 at 11.45.29 AM.png

What an amazing book! I loved going on this action-packed adventure with Jimmy and his dog, Andrew. This book was a fast-paced, educational read for me with well-developed characters and plots. The illustrations are extremely detailed and beautiful. The illustrations help engage and connect the reader to this wonderful story.

I had so much fun reading this. I loved the bond between Jimmy and Andrew. Even though this book is perfect for middle grade ages, I think some adults would love this as well. Once my two boys are older, I will be introducing them to this wonderful adventure. This is a book to be treasured! Can’t wait to see what book #2 brings!
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Krista, Maryland, USA -- @thrillersandcoffee

Screen Shot 2022-07-09 at 1.00.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 2.05.41 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 2.10.53 PM.png

Jimmy has always wanted a dog and on his 9th birthday he gets exactly that. It turns out his dog, Andrew, can communicate with him telepathically - super cool! Andrew can even read minds and when he’s in extreme danger, he can put an illusion into people’s minds.

When Jimmy’s dad who’s an archaeologist gets a report about a new site discovered that looks identical to the Stonehenge, Jimmy and Andrew tag along with him to check it out. They meet “Crazy Pete”, a vet who lives in an isolated part of the forest and he tells them about gremlins that reconstruct machines. He says they’re sort of like guardians of nature and might stop Jimmy’s dad from doing any work in the area.

Jimmy and Andrew go on adventure to find out more about the gremlins. My favourite bit is Jimmy being able to talk to Andrew. I’d love to be able to talk to animals, telepathically or not! The illustrations were also amazing. Plus Jimmy is the same age as me!

J’s verdict: 5 out of 5 book stars ⭐️

What an amazing book! Thank you for sending it over @jimmyandandrew! I can’t wait to read the next one! (That was the only annoying thing - knowing there’s still more to the story and I have to wait!)

- J, 9 year old, Indonesia -- @thebookreviewkid

About the book: Jimmy is a young boy who has always wanted a dog and finally on his birthday, he gets his wish, and welcomes a new friend through the rescue society. Little does he know, that his new dog (Andrew) is actually able to speak telepathically to Jimmy. An immortal dog, you say, how can that be?! And why has he been roaming for 3,000 yrs?! But most importantly what adventures does Andrew take Jimmy on as he unravels mysteries that were just waiting for the duo to discover together 💛⁣

 

Heartwarming, fun, cure, adventure full. My 8.5 yr old was hooked from page one as he related to little Jimmy both in age and wanting a best friend in a canine. Such a special gift to add to his own forever shelf. We both thank the author for the gifted copy in return for an honest review. I didn’t ‘have’ to post but I wanted to. It really was a fun adventure story for younger kids. ⁣

𝘗𝘴. 𝘐 𝘬𝘯𝘦𝘸 𝘐 𝘸𝘰𝘶𝘭𝘥 𝘣𝘦 𝘷𝘪𝘴𝘪𝘵𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘚𝘵𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘩𝘦𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘰𝘯 𝘮𝘺 𝘰𝘸𝘯 𝘢𝘥𝘷𝘦𝘯𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦𝘴 𝘪𝘯 𝘵𝘩𝘦 𝘜𝘬! 𝘚𝘰𝘮𝘦 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘴 𝘰𝘧 𝘚𝘵𝘰𝘯𝘦𝘩𝘦𝘯𝘨𝘦 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘧𝘰𝘳 𝘮𝘺 𝘤𝘶𝘵𝘪𝘦𝘴 𝘸𝘩𝘰 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘫𝘶𝘮𝘱𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘴 vvvv

- Jenna, United States -- @flowersfavouritefiction

Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.52.24 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.52.11 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.53.12 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-31 at 1.53.57 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a middle-grade illustrated book by Mike Goldstein about a 9 year old kid, Jimmy, and his three thousand year old dog...
It's the first book in a new series, The Adventures of Jimmy and Andrew by Mike Goldstein! 😍

It's a non- stop action story, where the kid and the dog communicate telepathically to solve mysteries! They meet different creatures and people.
• • • • • •
I fell in love with the characters and I really loved to read the book and to solve mysteries with them!
I found myself laughing while reading, the book is enjoyable and fun to read! 😆
It's suitable for young reader and I recommend it to readers who love to read mysteries and solve them!

The ending is beautifully written and I can't wait to read the sequel and to know what will happen with the characters 😍🥰

- Théa, France -- @_anotherbook_

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.44.37 PM.png

I love illustrations in books! 🙌🏻 And I think we need more of them!

I recently read this fantastic middle grade book called American Stonehenge and I have concluded I want a pet that I can speak to telepathically 😂

This is about Jimmy, a boy who turns nine, and as promised by his parents, he gets to finally get a dog! What he finds(or who finds him)is an ancient immortal dog called Andrew who is able to telepathically speak to Jimmy. Jimmy's dad is sent on a work trip to visit a place they are calling the American Stonehenge since it looks an awful lot like the Stonehenge in England. While there, Jimmy learns a lot about Andrew and his past life, and how similar the American Stonehenge is to what Andrew had once seen and experienced once many years ago. Strange occurrences are happening while they are there excavating, which leads to a discovery none of them were expecting, even Andrew.

This was such a cute read. I mean who wouldn't want an immortal dog who is very intelligent AND can speak to you telepathically?! I mean that's like a kid's dream come true. I loved seeing how Andrew and Jimmy's relationship developed, and you can definitely tell Jimmy is nine because of all the questions he had! He certainly also experienced A LOT on this trip for a kid that is nine!

I loved the blend of history, with modern day, and even future in this book. The book also took a very unexpected turn, and I was not expecting it!

And of course there’s some great illustrations throughout the book and I recommend it if you enjoy middle grade books with fantasy. Thank you @jimmyandandrew for sending me a free gifted copy 🥰

- Anais, United States -- @atrailofpages

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.38.20 PM.png

The illustrations are amazing and the story is fun! Jimmy rescues Andrew , a dog from the pound and they set off on an adventure together. The dog is over 3000 years old, immortal, and can talk to Jimmy telepathically.

Check out this book if you’re looking for something to occupy your middle school child or even your Dad.


- Tania Grim, Canada -- @grim_reads

Jimmy got a dog 🐕 on his ninth birthday. It turned out to be no ordinary dog 🐶, it could communicate with Jimmy telepathically and also was three thousand years old!!
He named his 🐶, Andrew.Jimmy's parents told him about their trip to Washington to an excavation site where Stonehenge has been found similar to one in England! Jimmy and Andrew face many adventures and solved mysteries which included ancient Indian treasures, mysterious disappearances along Stonehenge and many more.


🐶Highly recommend this book to anyone who loves solving mysteries.

🐶🐶The bond between telepathic pet and Jimmy was incredible.

🐶🐶🐶Loved the full colored illustrations which looked so real.

- Pari, 7 years old, India -- @parithebookworm

Screen Shot 2022-05-24 at 4.32.35 PM.png

#Rating: 5 ⭐

Andrew is not an ordinary dog. He is not only immortal but can also hear people's thoughts. Born during the ancient Egypt almost 5000 yrs ago, Andrew has seen a lot. So in the present, when Jimmy, a nine year old boy adopts Andrew, their journey of thrilling escapades together begin. The moment they set eyes on each other, there is an instant connection.

Jimmy's parents take them along on the exploration of a mysterious Stonehenge sighting similar to that in England. While on the way, they hear stories and together try to discover the mystery of the ancient structure. They meet strange people, decipher symbolic puzzles, protect each other from the unknown danger that only they can sense. Also, Andrew tells him fascinating stories from his past. His birth and various narrow escapes, his different companions over the time and their special bonds, his adventurous journey and the life lessons that make Andrew a wise dog. He teaches Jimmy a lot of things and guides him through his young ways.

The above story seems to be a complete movie but I loved the way the author had articulated his thoughts and made this piece a worth every page.

This book is brilliant. The story is gripping, full of adventure in every chapter, has easy comprehensive language and beautiful illustrations about the on going story. There is never a dull moment in the story that takes us back and forth to the important historical moments which Andrew has "witnessed". I absolutely adored the concept and the authors vision. One of a kind with the potential to be an exciting series for the young readers, this book is a must read for every child who loves excitement and a series of colourful exploits.

- Shweta, Book Reviewer, India -- @mayIreviewyourbook

Thank you to @jimmyandandrew for sending me a copy of your book! I loved it. I am excited for my daughter to read it when she is older, or for when she has the attention span for me to sit and read it to her 😅

I love the mix of realism and sci-fi elements. I am really happy to read the history and stories of the indigenous people of the area. I think this is a great book to teach older children the importance of protecting the Earth. Thank you for letting me read this wonderful adventure! I look forward to reading more of their stories!

- Sarah Anderson-Pagal, Canada -- @bibliomum

Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 12.48.21 PM.png

American Stonehenge is a Middle Grade adventure story starring a rescue dog Andrew and his boy Jimmy. Andrew is no ordinary dog, he is 4,000 yrs old! He and Jimmy are faced with a mystery and join forces to discover the origin of a mysterious stonehenge in a remote forest. The bond between the boy and dog is heartwarming. The author does a great job creating tension and adding humor in the right places. The illustrations are bright and exciting depicting each challenge they face together.

I always love a good story about rescues, Wesley is my first. He was rescued from Puerto Rico and just fills our home with happiness. Sometimes I feel like we are communicating telepathically so this story really triggers my imagination. Thank you to the author for the signed copy!

- Lisa, United States -- @Mrs.lauras.lit

🐾 Book Review 🐾

American Stonehedge by Mike Goldstein is such a wonderful story, full of amazing illustrations that enhanced author's unique and descriptive writing style.

It's Jimmy's birthday and he gets to pick a dog from the shelter, or maybe I should say the dog gets to pick him. The two have a telepathic bond, and we soon discover the dog's name is Andrew. I was happy to be a part of the adventures and to learn more about Andrew and his interesting past. He and Jimmy made a sweet pair. I enjoyed this book, from Egypt to the forest people to Stonehedge and a few surprises I didn't see coming. I think kids will enjoy it too.

- Cherie, United States -- @bookish_cherie

Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 12.44.44 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-02 at 12.30.36 PM.png

It’s me, Rolly, coming to you from Egypt three thousand years ago just like my buddy Andrew the immortal dog in “The Adventures of Jimmy & Andrew: American Stonehenge.” This illustrated adventure book may be intended for upper middle graders but I found the story gripping as an adult 😮

Jimmy picks a shelter dog, Andrew, on his 9th birthday only to discover that Andrew was born in ancient Egypt and can communicate with Jimmy telepathically. Any dog lover can relate to wishing they could read their dog’s mind! 🐶

Jimmy and Andrew accompany Jimmy’s archaeologist parents to a remote forest in Washington state where there is reportedly an “American Stonehenge.” And now the adventure begins: forest people, gremlins, caves, inscriptions on an ancient tablet, space aliens, Bigfoot, Native American elders with secrets, and of course the telepathic communication — all stuff most kids will eat up! 🌀 Now excuse me while I resume working on my telepathy skills 😉

- Rolly, United States -- @rolly.looks.at.books

American Stonehenge by Mike Goldstein is a hard novel to review without giving too much away, or overexplaining it. The delight in it lies in the experience of the reading, in the beautifully constructed sentences, in the lingering sense of adventure in the world, and at the centre of the story, nestles the relationship between a boy and his dog.

The elements of discovery, adventure, and exploration in this book are really well developed. There are many tense action scenes that were incredibly well done. And Mike Goldstein ties everything together so nicely that there really are no lulls in the pacing.

Jimmy is wonderful, gutsy and brave, but he is also worried about everything. Andrew, the dog, is wonderfully written and plays such an important part in the adventure in the story that anyone becomes very attached to him, just as Jimmy is. This is a lovely, adventurous mystery, and beautifully written book, which works for younger readers as well as for adults.

- The Bookish Elf -- @thebookishelf

Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 2.44.51 PM.png

The title of a book will often provide the clues to what lies within. It's true here to a point, but a good story can make the reader forget about the title, and better yet, change perceptions. If I tried to explain the path destined for this boy – and the dog who certainly will accompany him – I'd either steer you wrong, or say too much. What I will say, is that it's an adventure in the waiting, not the fairy tale kind, but one fraught with perils. It is coming-of-age story. It's an example of living with partial hope in a devastated future and at times a nostalgic look back at the world which used to exist.

Jimmy always wanted a dog, so his parents brought him to an animal shelter on his ninth birthday to adopt one. However, he never imagined that he would find a pet who could communicate with him telepathically! The moment he hears Andrew's thoughts, he knows that he is not an average dog. Eventually Jimmy learns that Andrew was born in Egypt more than 3,000 years ago.

Meanwhile, a team of archaeologists led by Jimmy's father discover a mysterious rock formation, a replica of Stonehenge, and brings the entire family to the site. Jimmy and Andrew are on quest to untangle the mystery surrounding the rock foundation. The two embark on an adventure together as they discover aliens and ancient tribes.

All in all, this is a captivating, exquisite story told by a true master storyteller who knows how to write so that both the plot and the characters deepen effortlessly as you read. An unforgettable, exceptional work of fiction. Unreservedly recommended.

- @readerslunatic

This middle-grade illustrated novel is about Jimmy, a nine-year-old boy, and Andrew, his four-thousand-year-old dog. You read right… four-thousand-year-old. They can communicate telepathically, and this gives them a huge advantage in this non-stop action story. They will meet all kinds of people and creatures who will make this exciting adventure quite interesting.

 

If you are looking for a fun action story for your middle-grader, I recommend this book.
 
💌  My Rating: ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ ❤️ /5

- Guylou, Canada -- @twodogsandabook

Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 1.24.51 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 1.15.53 PM.png

​🐕  My summary: It's Jimmy's 9th birthday, and he's excited to get his new dog from the Humane Society. When he arrives, an unfamiliar voice asks Jimmy to adopt him. It turns out a black and orange-haired dog was speaking to him telepathically! Jimmy names the dog Andrew. Andrew tells him that he was born in Egypt more than 3,000 years ago! Jimmy, his parents (archaeologists), and Andrew are going to Washington to help excavate a Stonehenge that looks exactly like the one in England! Jimmy and Andrew must discover why this Stonehenge exists, why there are so many disappearances, and why Andrew lived for three thousand years?

🐕  My thoughts: I loved reading about the mysteries in this book. It was fun to learn about the history of Stonehenge and the disappearances surrounding it. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves solving mysteries. The story was fascinating to read. I learned many things like, for example, preserving meat without electricity. I thank Mr. Goldstein for teaching me those things through this fantastic book. The storyline was also very creative. I love his writing style because it transports you into the story with Jimmy and Andrew. The author wrote excellent descriptions of the setting and the characters, especially the relationship between Jimmy and Andrew. The book is humorous; I burst into laughter every time there were wisecracks. I also loved the full-colored illustrations; they look realistic.

🐕  My rating: 9/10

- Paige & Laly (ages 12 and 9), Belgium -- @paigeandlalypops

Exquisitely written, American Stonehenge is an adventure story like no other, full of danger, discovery, joy, and fantasy. It is indeed a simple story, but this is one of many occasions when a simple, heartfelt plot holds so much power. It's such an adventurous tale and one that plays on the love we all have for our furry companions, on whose love we can rely unconditionally.

As a character, Jimmy is courageous, determined, vulnerable, and strong, and the love that he has for Andrew, his dog, is warm to the heart. Both Jimmy and Andrew are tremendous characters to propel the story forward, and you will root for them from the very beginning.

Mike Goldstein's debut will touch readers of all ages and all persuasions with its movingly powerful message and lyrical narrative. The inventive plot, beautiful graphics, and evocative prose lift this adventure beyond simply a children's adventure story. Highly recommended.

- The Bookish Elf -- @thebookishelf

Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 1.07.52 PM.png

The book is extraordinary. You can tell how much heart went into creating this story. It is quite simply beautiful. It is more about Jimmy, his dog Andrew, and the people and places they encounter. There's a very specific voice and style to this book, one that works incredibly well for the story it tells. The book borrows a great deal from the old adventure wilderness stories – the lost wanderer with their faithful dog/horse/platypus and the bond between them.

Mike Goldstein has mastered the style and genre elements here, keeping the drama high without ever going over the top and losing the essence of the story. Overall American Stonehenge is a true page-turner and fulfills all its promises.

- @readerslovebook

Screen Shot 2022-04-02 at 12.30.57 PM.png

Have to say I was intrigued with the title as the only Stonehenge I know about is in the UK. Jimmy is allowed to adopt a dog on his ninth birthday. He’s told to let the dog chose him and that is exactly what happens! This dog has the ability to talk to Jimmy telepathically, yep… Jimmy did not freak out as much as I would have! The dog is called Andrew and much bonding is done on the way home. It should be noted that Andrew is really old, like three millennia old and used to hang out in Egypt with King Tut way back when. He’s got stories for days!

We learn so much about ancient history, as Andrew has seen it all. The Egyptian history was particularly fascinating to me. This is really quite the adventure and much happens on the excursion with some shady characters and weird goings on in the surrounding area.

I will say that while the writing style is very accessible for MG, there are a couple of scenes that contain violence involving a friend who is a Vietnam Vet, these scenes IMO push it to slightly older audience (a knife fight in a bar and gun shot wound).

I really enjoyed reading this story, the friendships and connections made plus all those illustrations, great job 🤩

- Samantha, Librarian, New Zealand -- @whatsinatitle

I'm writing this review with the help of my 12-year-old nephew who thought this book was awesome! I didn't really know which genre to place it when I first picked it up. Turns out, it didn't really matter. The story had immortal telepathic animals, adventure, historical mystery, and even aliens accompanied by full-colour illustrations throughout.

 

It's a story about Jimmy and his amazing dog who was actually born in Egypt over 3000 years ago. Jimmy and his dog go on many adventures to discover clues to the special dog's mysterious origins. They come across American Stonehenge, an ancient place shrouded in secrets that beg to be unraveled.

 

My nephew finished the whole book in just a few days as he was completely engaged with the characters and plot and needed to find out what happened next. This book was a fast-paced, exciting adventure recommended for upper middle-graders.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5

- Melati, Australia -- @middlegradebooks

IMG_2746.png
IMG_2345_edited.jpg

Here’s what Connor has to say about this middle school book:

📷  The pictures are awesome! I like the colors and details.

🐕  Andrew is probably the coolest dog ever. He is a rescue like, Rosie!

🌍  I want to be a social studies teacher when I grow up. I like how this book is        full of mystery, adventure and history.

💭 Did I say that Andrew can talk to Jimmy? He can. He can talk

     telepathically!!!

CJ's ⭐️  RATING: ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

CJ is already asking about book 2, “Land of Caverns”. Thank you @jimmyandandrew for sending us book 1 — we loved it! Even I learned a thing or two reading this one!

- CJ (age 9) United States -- @thebookishboymom

When it came to the plot though, Mike Goldstein is a master story teller. American Stonehenge is an adventure in its kind; rare and special. The writing in this novel composed a pure and honest orchestra of notes and tones clearly woven together into an intricate and tight plot, reflecting a flawed world and characters stripped of pretense, leaving them raw and savage before a chaotic and uncertain future. It is a masterfully executed composition that leaves the reader in a toiled state of emotion conducted at will.

I was happy for the story to take me along in an unexpected and unique way with an ending I completely unanticipated as the pages were drawing close to the end. I could not possibly give away spoilers about the final ending right now. Instead, I’ll just let you go on this journey with Jimmy and Andrew and let you experience it all by yourself.

 

- Reader's Lunatic -- @readerslunatic

I've been looking for children/young teen fantasy books that aren't too separated from reality(meaning still in our realm of existence. i.e something like harry potter or artimus fowl), that take place in America and boy did I find what I was looking for. This book is amazing. First off not like its so important but the illustrations are really good and it really gets kids more attached to the characters. Secondly, what an original story that's written just so well. It encapsulated me to the point that I would read the next chapter without my kids because i had to know what came next. Overall I'm extremely impressed with it, Oh yeah and for some reason its really inexpensive which I was really surprised at because the book feels like its made from really good quality material.

- Anonymous Review (found on Reddit)

What a fantastic story, full of the most beautiful color illustrations! It’s his birthday, & Jimmy gets to pick out a dog at the humane society. Jimmy has wanted a dog his whole life. But he never imagined he’d find a pet that could talk to him telepathically! It turns out that the dog is immortal, born in Egypt more than 3 thousand years ago. With the ability to read both canine & human thoughts, he has roamed the earth ever since, hoping to find others of his kind. Only after he meets Jimmy does he begin to discover clues to his elusive origins. When Jimmy rescues Andrew from the pound, the first of their many adventures begins. And what an adventure it is. There are many kids & their dog stories I’m sure, but I loved how different this one is. I also loved THIS boy & his dog so much! lol They were like one person, so bonded. Jimmy is so sweet, & Andrew is so amazing. Jimmy, Andrew, & Pete (another fantastic character) all have my heart. This whole story was so different & imaginative. I loved every part-from the Forest People, the Stonehenge, the Priest Clan, & the whole history & current plot itself. So engrossing & terrific. It can get a little dark & upper MG with some parts. I loved how the author handled hunting in here. Not only using hunting for survival not sport (sport would’ve made me furious lol), making sure none is wasted, making it fast, & I especially loved when Sam shared saying thank you to the animals spirit. The aliens were not what I was expecting at all & are different to anything I’ve read & I enjoyed that aspect as well. The characters though, are what hook you. The author writes characters you fall in love with. This was such a grand adventure, & I’m so excited for the next book after the way it ended. Fabulous ending, that made me so intrigued & excited to see what happens next-especially with (not only Jimmy & Andrew) Pete & Pop. Absolutely beautiful cover & full page color illustrations throughout by @anilduyal too! 💜
@jimmyandandrew

- Belle, Book Reviewer, United States -- @bellesmiddlegrade

American Stonehenge is a real work of the storyteller's art. It's an adventure that pulled me into the marvelous world of Jimmy and Andrew. Jimmy, the young boy with his magical friend, a dog called Andrew. Ideas and scenes pour into one another from the present into history and on into the world of science fiction. All seamlessly interwoven. Artfully embroidered into the story are the perfume of indigenous wisdom, a light touch of human values, solid historical facts and hints of imaginative futures spun out of the
past. As an adventure it really keeps you on your toes as the unexpected is about to happen and you don't want to miss it. At the end of each chapter you just have to know what happens next. All in all a really great book. So more please Mike.


- Gregory F.

I didn’t want the story to end!  Such great characters and a boy and dog who can communicate!  The beautiful pictures help move you through the story.  It’s full of intriguing twists and turns that not only hold your attention but teach you so many things along the way.  I fell in love with Jimmy and Andrew!  A MUST read for all ages!

- Sue L.

Jimmy and Andrew is the perfect book for children 10 and up. It's historical fiction that is well researched and extremely entertaining. It's the type of story that will make your children love to read.  There is non-stop adventure and Jimmy and Andrew's relationship is magical!   It is also a great book to read to your kids or grandkids because it's just as enjoyable for adults. Love, love, love it!!!

 

- Shirley B.

I really enjoyed how it was both entertaining yet educational, for kids and adults! I learned some new things myself, and was pulled along this wonderfully told story of a boy and his magical, ancient dog.  Oh - the artwork that accompanied the story was beautifully done. I highly recommend this for parents and children to enjoy together.

- Jefferson A.

Reading the Jimmy and Andrew book again, I am uplifted and inspired. It is as enthralling as the first time I read it, in 2009.

What is touching me the most in this book is the loving relationship between Jimmy and Andrew, and the other characters in the book. It depicts a world I want to live in, where people are truly present for one another and they are really listening. It is only now that I realise that perhaps the fact there are no smart phones in their world contributes to deeper conversations and real adventure.

Another thing I really appreciate in this book is by learning about these special qualities that exist like thought reading, I noticed I am able to do so too, as if just knowing about this quality allows me to use it too. I am sure it is a quality that we all naturally possess but it never got acknowledged.

Finally, the whole interaction with the Marudon; their purpose to protect nature and the introduction to their advanced technology like Zadium gives hope to save this planet’s natural ressources and while I have never met an alien myself, it feels very likely that this planet has been visited by aliens in the way it has been described in the book.

If you want to open your mind and your heart and have a good time, grab a copy of the book and start the adventure.

- Annabel B.

This book offers engaging and educational adventures for readers of all ages. The main story includes insights and adventures for young readers in the form of the main narrative, which flips between a heartwarming story about the ties between Jimmy and Andrew and the action-packed mystery that eventually features cues from ancient history. The combination of action, dialogue and heart offers several levels of engagement for readers of all interests. Older readers with an interest in history will find plenty to delight in here, and the illustrations are sure to wow anyone with an appreciation for visual storytelling. A great pick for budding readers and young adult literature fans alike!

- Adam G.

There's a great deal to like about this book. The premise, that a nine-year-old boy adopts a dog from a shelter and immediately finds that he and the dog can "talk" to each other telepathically, that his ability to do this is very rare, and that the dog is beyond rare, with an exciting, astonishing history and intelligence. The boy and the dog form a deep bond right away and are off on their first adventure. The plot moves quickly, and the illustrations are perfect. Jimmy and Andrew are well developed characters from the get-go, both lovable and courageous. This book is labeled as "YA" but any child would love this, starting at age 9 and going up into the teens.

- Rebecca J.

I loved this book. The story is so interesting and my kids loved it too, fun for all ages!

- Sheyna G.

 

Customer Reviews

See what we're up to in the book world on our Amazon and GoodReads!

Check Instagram and Facebook for the most recent reviews!